Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Mar 23, 2017

Strong field to launch 2017 Prototype Series


The all-new Australian Prototype Series will launch with at least 14 cars when the opening round of the series is staged at the Shannons Nationals season opener at Sandown.

The series has attracted a diverse entry for the opening round, setting up a strong start for the year.

Five different manufacturers are represented, including the pair of Wolf GB08 Tornado CN Prototype entries entered by Synep Racing – the first of their kind to race nationally in Australia.

New South Wales brothers Josh and Adam Cranston will steer the pair of Synep Racing entries, upgrading from several seasons of competition in the FL1 Open Wheelers that are a mainstay of the class.

While Adam will run in the P2 Kumho Cup class, Josh Cranston will run in the outright P1 category alongside fellow championship favourites, Jason Makris (West WX10) and Mark Laucke (West WX10).

South Australian Mark Short (Prince LSR Sports Racer) is expected to be a strong contender at the front of the field and will also be a challenger for P2 Kumho Cup honours at the weekend.

Competitors racing for the P2 Kumho Cup class – based on driver seeding - remain in contention for the outright P1 title, however also compete for their own ‘title within a title’ to give them a chance at podium glory.

Kumho Cup seeded drivers who qualify more than twice in the top three or finish a race more than twice in the top three during the 2017 Series will then only become eligible for the P1 Series. Kumho Cup drivers will be eligible for outright P1 points, whereas P1 drivers will not be eligible for Kumho Cup points.

Johnathon Stoeckel (West WR1000) and Synep Racing’s John-Paul Drake (West WX10) add to the depth in the Kumho Cup at round one.

Additionally, a brace of Radical competitors will join the series at Sandown, set to fight for their own class trophy at Round 1.

Amongst the contenders in the four-cylinder powered SR3 Radical entries include David Crampton, Peter Paddon, Michael Whiting, Chris Sutton, Philip Hughes and Kim Burke.

West Australia’s Terry Peovitis will be the sole runner in the F1K class, however the nimble 1000cc open wheelers are generally highly competitive with the similarly-powered Sports Racing cars throughout the field.

Entries remain open for the opening round of the 2017 Australian Prototype Series.

The season opener will be contested on 7-9 April at Sandown.


Provisional entry list: Round 1 Australian Prototype Series

2 Kumho Cup Synep Racing, Adam Cranston NSW, Wolf GB08 Tornado

3 Radical Vantage Freight, David Crampton NSW, Radical SR3

4 FL1 Orlando Phoenix, Terry Peovitis, WA, RFR F1000

5 P1 Synep Racing, Josh Cranston, NSW, Wolf GB08 Tornado

16 Kumho Cup MSR Motorsport Fabrication, Mark Short, SA, Prince LSR

31 Radical First Focus, Peter Paddon, NSW, Radical SR3

33 Radical Taylor Collision, Michael Whiting, SA, Radical SR3

35 Radical Sutto's Motorcycle Supply, Chris Sutton, VIC, Radical SR3

42 Radical Hughes Supercar Services, Philip Hughes, VIC, Radical SR3

44 P1 Mirage Racing - Marina Mirage Gold Coast, Jason Makris, QLD, West WX10

53 Kumho Cup Bryan Stoeckel, Jonathon Stoeckel, VIC, West WR1000

55 P1 Laucke Flour Mills, Mark Laucke, SA, West WX10

66 Kumho Cup Synep Racing, John-Paul Drake, SA, West WX10

68 Radical Kim Burke, Kim Burke, NSW, Radical SR3