Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Aug 12, 2012


ROUND SIX of the Shannons Nationals presented by Hi-Tec Oils brought eight categories to Ipswich’s Queensland Raceway.

It left having put on a big show with several key results making the championship picture increasingly competitive in several categories as the series heads deep into the second half of the season.

Garry Holt and Ryan McLeod won the Hydraulink Fight in the Night in their Mitsubishi Lancer EVO, winning the second race this evening by nearly 50 seconds over Jim Pollicina and Ryan Simpson, and Dylan & David Thomas identical Mitsubishi.

They won the round overall and showed that two-time Production Car champion Holt is keen for a third.

A full recap of the Hydraulink 400 race two – presented by Kennards Hire – can be found here.

Darren Hossack and Tony Ricciardello continued their mighty rivalry this weekend with a classic display of close-quarters racing in the Kerrick Sports Sedan series, the pair dicing hard in each of today’s 12-lap races.

Hossack was the winner of both, but it took a mighty effort as the seven-time champion got to the front in every race, forcing the Audi driver to hunt him down each time.

The final race was a classic; Ricciardello on the ragged edge trying to keep Hossack behind – something he achieved for 11 of the 12 laps before the charging Audi was able to slip past.

Hossack won the round with Ricciardello second and Baily recovering from a race-one non start with third with the title set to go down to the wire in the final round at Wakefield Park in October.

There was huge drama in Round 5 of the Radical Australia Cup, as race leaders Peter Johnston and Ed Singleton collided with just two minutes remaining in the 50-minute feature race this afternoon.

Peter White was a surprise winner, sweeping past Johnston and Singleton to take his first Radical win after running third for much of the race.

Points leader Neale Muston had led a majority of the race, however a technical issue during his compulsory pit stop saw him drop from the lead and to a 12th place finish.

Johnston and Singleton then assumed the top two places, the 2011 winner chasing down Johnston before the pair began a battle for the lead with just ten minutes to go before they came together at turn three with less than two laps remaining.

Johnston recovered to finish fifth, Singleton failed to finish and White took the glory – whilst Simon Haggarty scored enough points across the weekend to win the round ahead of Andrew MacPherson and Richard Bloomfield.

Allan Jarvis won a typically action-packed round of the Hi-Tec Oils Australian Swift Racing series by a solitary point, edging out rival Reece Murphy after both had strong weekends. Jarvis also closed to 5 points of Murphy in the series standings in the process.

Damien Ward finished third overall despite ending the final race of the weekend buried in the sand at turn 6.

There were three different winners from three races in the Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Car Series, Matt Shanks and Kane Baxter-Smith both notching their respective first Saloon Car wins today in two action-packed races.

Shanks, however, won the round in his Autorite AU Falcon ahead of fellow Ford drivers Lindsay Kerns and Baker-Smith.

Simon Tabinor extended his title lead by finishing fifth overall, driving a VT Commodore.

Jason Smith became the first Queenslander to win an Australian Superkart title in 16 years when he clinched the prestigious national title today, in dramatic fashion.

Points leader Gary Pegoraro had looked the likely victory however was served a drive-through penalty in the penultimate race of the weekend – and the season – for ‘not controlling the field under safety car’.

This elevated Smith to the lead and though Pegoraro won the final race, Smith’s second was enough for him to seal the championship.

Meanwhile, Queensland rookie Morgan Haber won his first round of the Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car series at the weekend, winning two of the three races in his Ford Falcon.

Jim Pollicina extended his series lead and also broke through for his maiden V8TC victory in race 3 today, holding out Haber in a classic Ford-Holden battle for the lead.

For a full V8TC wrap, click here.

In the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge, three different winners won the three races – each of them first-time GT3 Cup winners.

Brent Odgers won the round, winning race two today and finishing second in the finale – a race won by Phil Woodbury

For a full Porsche GT3 Cup wrap, click here.

The next round of the Shannons Nationals presented by Hi-Tec Oils will be held at the classic Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, in Victoria, on September 21-23.