Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Sep 25, 2012


Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia has officially crowned its 2012 champion, Kane Rose, after the Victorian's fourth round win of the season at Phillip Island, sharing race victories with Jeff Bobik at the final round.

Rose started Sunday with victory in Race 2 in wet conditions, quickly gapping the field early and maintaining his position at the front until the chequered flag.

Bobik continued his charge through the field after being involved in a Race 1 incident to finish second ahead of Philip Woodbury, Adam Marjoram, John Modystach, John Morriss and Fraser Ross.

Then, in Race 3, one of the most exciting GT3 Cup Challenge races of the season unfolded, featuring an intense front battle pack of the top nine drivers for the majority of the race.

Up front, Woodbury challenged Bobik for the lead in the closing laps, however Bobik was able to claim victory and secure runner-up in the series standings.

Woodbury finished second from Rose, Ross, Modystach, Morriss, Marjoram, Almond, Jon Trende and Stephen Grove in tenth.

Bobik’s win was his fourth for the 2012 season, all of which coming from the last race of a round, while taking the runner-up position in the standings for the second consecutive year.

“I came to Phillip Island just wanting to get second in the championship as Modystach was only a bit in front, but I was also worried about Odgers, to be honest,” said Bobik.

“I achieved by goal to get second in the series. It was light years to Rose in first place, but that’s never been on the cards. Kane’s quality is up there with Matt Kingsley; the best two drivers that have ever raced in this series.

“I’ve got no problem finishing second to Kane, that’s for sure.”

Meanwhile Rose was ecstatic with the weekend’s result: securing two race wins, the round win and being crowned the 2012 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia champion.

“It was a weight off my shoulders to secure the title yesterday. Today we were able to have a bit of fun, go racing and get some good results,” said Rose.

“The weekend couldn’t have gone much better. We had great pace all weekend and we can give Stephen back his car in one piece and be grateful to everyone who has given us the help to get here.

“I can’t thank Stephen and the Grove Group enough, along with Melbourne’s Cheapest Cars, for the opportunity to race and win the series.”

On Sunday night’s GT3 Cup Challenge Awards Night, Rose was officially crowned the 2012 champion.

Rose also received the Jim Richards Endurance Trophy on the night, presented by Jim Richards himself.

Stephen Grove was also a winner, receiving the Michelin Australia Sportsperson of the Year Award.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia – 2012 Final standings

1    Kane Rose - 421
2    Jeff Bobik - 333
3    John Modystach - 322
4    John Morriss - 270
5    Brent Odgers - 239
6    Michael Almond - 233
7    John Goodacre - 220
8    Adam Marjoram - 212
9    Philip Woodbury - 207
10  Fraser Ross - 149
11  Stephen Grove - 137
12  Robert Knight - 115