Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Oct 24, 2012


THE Shannons Nationals presented by Hi-Tec Oils has announced a nine-round calendar for 2013 that builds on the growth experienced throughout 2012.

The 2013 season will commence at Sydney Motorsport Park, in New South Wales, in late March before visiting Victoria, Queensland and South Australia and concluding in mid-November.

The nine rounds remain in the same locations and same order as this year, offering date equity to promoters, categories and fans.

Six tracks - Sydney Motorsport Park, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Mallala Raceway, Winton Motor Raceway, Sandown Park and Queensland Raceway - will again host rounds.

Major changes to the schedule include the addition of the Australian Six-Hour race at Sydney Motorsport Park in July, which will double as a stand-alone event combined with a regular Shannons Nationals round.

The Six-hour will feature its own branding and marketing in an effort to build its reputation as a key endurance event on the Australian Motorsport landscape.

Successfully trialled this year, Night racing will be seen at more than one Shannons Nationals round in 2013 with Queensland Raceway’s ‘Fight in the Night’ set to return – after an enthusiastic reaction this year.

Round two, at Mallala in South Australia, will also turn on the lights with a racing program that will run late into Saturday evening and utilise Mallala’s in-built track lighting – already used several times each year for state-level racing.

Whilst category placement is yet to be confirmed, key ‘marquee’ rounds for individual categories will return next year.

The Clem Smith Cup for Sports Sedans will again be held at Mallala, whilst Wakefield Park will see a return of the V8 Touring Cars heritage round – to be expanded next year after a modest debut two weeks ago.

Shannons Nationals Series Director Rob Curkpatrick says the 2013 schedule offers stability and growth for all key stakeholders.

“One of the key positives of this calendar is that we are able to return to each round on a similar – if not identical – weekend as we visited this year. This gives our partners promoting the rounds some real date equity and enables them to begin promoting their respective rounds earlier, and with confidence.

“We plan to build on the night racing concept that was so successfully trialled at Queensland Raceway this year. We will again light up QR, but also take advantage of Mallala’s permanent lights to run into the night there on Saturday.

“A few key races will be scheduled for that night and, like Queensland, it will be quite spectacular.”

The Shannons Nationals is currently in negotiation with race categories keen to secure their place on the 2013 schedule and will announce competing categories in due course.


  1. March 22-24             Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
  2. April 19-21                Mallala Motorsport Park, SA (Includes Night Racing)
  3. May 24-26                Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC
  4. June 21-23                Winton Motor Raceway, VIC
  5. July 12-14                 Australian 6 Hour, Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
  6. August 2-4                Queensland Raceway, QLD (Includes Night Racing)
  7. September 20-22       Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC
  8. October 18-20           Wakefield Park, NSW
  9. November 15-17         Sandown Raceway, VIC