Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Nov 20, 2012


Series to remain six rounds with major stability in venues and dates

KUMHO Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series officials have today confirmed the calendar for the 2013 season, which will again form a major part of the successful Shannons Nationals.

The series for ex-V8 Supercars will again be contested over six rounds with the same venues and similar dates as this year’s series.

It’s this ongoing stability that category organisers believe is critical for the emerging series to continue to grow next season.

“We’ve found this year’s calendar worked well for the category so we saw no real need to make any significant changes,” said V8 Touring Car Series Commercial Manager Rob Curkpatrick.

“The series is continuing to grow and evolve and having this sort of stability in our calendar and venues is important.

“The numbers of cars taking to the grid this year have again been solid and a record-equalling 20 cars at the Winton round earlier in the season was testament to that.

“There’s significant interest in the category from drivers and teams seeing it as a viable and affordable avenue to race these types of cars.”

The 2013 Kumho Series will kick off at Sydney Motorsport Park at Eastern Creek on March 22-24, the weekend after the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne.

Series organisers also confirmed that the ‘V8 Heritage’ event, for older model ex-V8 Supercars (Falcon EB to AU and Commodore VP to VX) will again go ahead at Wakefield Park on October 18-20.

The final round of this year’s Kumho Series is at Sandown Raceway this weekend in Melbourne with Josh Hunter and Jim Pollicina fighting it out for the title.

2013 Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series Calendar

Round 1          March 22-24                 Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW

Round 2          April 19-21                    Mallala Motorsport Park, SA

Round 3          June 21-23                    Winton Motor Raceway, VIC
Round 4          August 2-4                    Queensland Raceway, QLD
Round 5          September 20-22          Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC

Non-Champ    October 18-20              Wakefield Park, NSW (V8 Heritage Only)
Round 6          November 15-17          Sandown Raceway, VIC