Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Nov 25, 2012


IN A SENSATIONAL conclusion to the first 40-lap leg of the final round of the Australian Manufacturers Championship at Sandown Raceway today, Dylan Thomas has pulled off a remarkable victory over series leader Stuart Kostera.

Driving his recently purchased CXC Global Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, Thomas passed the similar Team Mitsubishi Ralliart machine (shared by Inky Tulloch) on the second last lap, and held out the two-times champion over the last lap. “Stuart made an error at turn four and I was able to get past on the run up the hill, but then on the final lap I missed a gear change – but managed to hold on,” said an elated Thomas after the race.

Third place went to the BMW 1M of Beric Lynton who finished seven seconds ahead of the fastest qualifying Evo X of Ryan Simpson and Jim Pollicina which had to overcome making a second pit stop when a tyre delaminated. Fifth and remaining on the lead lap behind the four Class A turbos, was the leading Class B Holden HSV GTS of Steve Briffa that was without a clutch since lap four of the 40-lap event.

Colin Osborne overcame a poor season in his Mazda 3 MPS to down the faster qualifying BMW 130i of Kean Booker/Anthony Gilbertson to win Class C while Mark Eddy and Francois Jouy in their Honda Integra, triumphed over the Renault Clio of Richard Gartner to take Class D. Both the lone entries in Class E and I, the Grant Phillips\Andrew Turpie Proton Satria and Michael Sherrin’s Mini JCW had troubles.

Others with problems in the race were the Garry Holt/Ryan McLeod Evo with a melted spark plug, the BMW of David Guigni/Theo Koundouris went into limp mode when the key fell out.

All that action can be seen on SBS’ Speedweek, screening at 11:30am on December 2 and on Foxtel’s Speed within the following week, at a time to be advised.