Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Nov 25, 2012


BY WINNING THE first of three races at the seventh and final round at Sandown Park yesterday, Simon Tabinor has won the 2012 Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Car Series.

The British born Victorian driver of the Eurostar Diesels Holden Commodore VT needed a 24th or better to secure the title but instead he qualified on the front row, went straight to the lead and withstood the challenge of polesitter Gavin Ross for the duration of the ten lap event.

Third place went to the Ford Falcon AU of Andrew Nowland who had to battle throughout with the Commodore of Travis Lindorff. Josh Kean consolidated second in the series with fifth in his Commodore but there were dramas for third overall Harley Phelan with his Commodore failing to make the start due to a broken coil pack.

Of interest was the ontrack battle for seventh position behind Luke Westall’s Falcon. Ian Chivas (Falcon) had the spot initially before being passed by Tony James (Commodore). But in the end it was Craig Campbell’s Holden that won through over James and Chivas with Shaun Woodhouse (Holden) next ahead of Brett Campbell (Falcon) and the Dial Before You Dig Fords of Mark Primmer and Dennie Rumble.

There will be two further 10-lap races, scheduled for 11:10am and 2.05pm today that can be seen and heard live on, and later on SBS’ Speedweek and Fox’s Speed.

More information and updates on the Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Cars is available at while complete details on the Shannons Nationals and all its categories can be sourced from