Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Dec 13, 2012


BF Falcons and sequential gearboxes permitted for first time next season

KUMHO Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series officials have today confirmed a new two-class structure for next year’s series for ex-V8 Supercars.

The introduction of sequential gearboxes into the category in 2013 has prompted the series to create ‘Class H’ for cars fitted with H-pattern gearboxes and ‘Class S’ for more modern cars running with a sequential gearbox.

Only Holden Commodore VZs and Ford Falcon BA and BF model cars may run in ‘Class S’ with the use of the Holinger sequential gearbox - those cars must also run with an M800 MoTeC ECU and a control engine camshaft.

The Ford Falcon BF is eligible for the Kumho Series for the first time in 2013 given it has now beenphased out of the V8 Supercar Development Series.

Engine rev limits for the series will remain at 7000rpm - the same setting used by the V8 Touring Car category since it was created in 2008 – and 500rpm less than what is used in both the V8 Supercars Championship and Development Series.

Category organisers also confirmed today that race formats for the 2013 series would mirror those of 2012 with private optional practice on Fridays followed by practice, qualifying and a race on Saturday and two further races on the Sunday of each round.

A growing category, the Kumho Series features Commodore and Falcons that all have histories in the V8 Supercars Championship and Development Series.

Many teams and drivers have restored their cars to the same liveries as carried by the likes of the Holden Racing Team, Ford Performance Racing and HSV Dealer Team in what is effectively becoming an unofficial third-tier of V8 Supercar racing.

The six-round 2013 Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series begins at Sydney Motorsport Park on March 23-24 next year.

Sydney-based production company AVE will again produce television coverage of the series on its long-running SBS program ‘Speedweek’ in 2013 while the series will also continue to appear on Fox Sports’ ‘SPEED’ channel.