Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Mar 12, 2013


Saloon Car racing enters its 14th season this year as a national status category and the 2013 Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Car Series competition is as strong as ever.

The series is about Ford verse Holden, Falcon verse Commodore, and was originally for their respective six cylinder EA and VN models before updating to AU and VT. The model transition was in 2006, a significant year in Saloon Car history for it also became one of five core category for the then new CAMS Nation Racing Championship, or as it is known now, the Shannons Nationals.

Both makes record similar lap times and are strong and weak in different areas. They race on a control Bridgestone Tyre and Pedders suspension components.

Saloon Car competitors comes from all mainland states to generally contest six rounds at a variety of race circuits stretching from Mallala in South Australia to Queensland Raceway and most venues in between. Phillip Island, Sandown and particularly Bathurst have been a magnet to these cars – when they race there, the grids are filled to capacity.

Holdens won the first two seasons of the series with Shane Beikoff the inaugural winner and Tony Evangelou in 2001. Bruce Heinrich has been the most successful with five titles, all in Falcons, over a six year period – interrupted by Clint Harvey (Holden) in 2004.

Two Ford drivers have won since in Steve Kwiatkowski and Matt Lovell while Shawn Jamieson, Tim Rowse and Simon Tabinor scored for the red side. This year Tabinor wants to do something that hasn’t been done since the Heinrich days – successfully defend his series win.