Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Mar 12, 2013


They are fast, rough riding, exhilarating and frightening all at the same time. That is the world of Superkarts. It is high performance, affordable motorsport – cheap racing that is second to none when compared to any other form of motor racing.

These “go-karts on steroids” feature engines up to 250cc in capacity, six-speed gearboxes, bodywork, four-wheel disc brakes and wings, and are fast, have no suspension and can lap fast circuits like Sydney Motorsport Park and Phillip Island only a couple of seconds slower than the country’s best Sports Sedans – all that and just five centremetres off the ground.

Superkarts have been around as a national category since 1989 and features classes for 250cc (two cylinder) International, 250cc (single cylinder) National and 125cc engines which mainly come from specialist karting engine Rotax but can be motorcycle-sourced such as Husqvarna, Kawasaki and Yamaha.

The most successful driver in Superkarts has been Warren McIlveen with eight titles, seven of them in the top class, 250 International. The most successful cross-class driver has been Brian Stockman who has won six titles across three classes.

Other prominent winners include Paul Lawson - the first champion, Gerard Siebert (with three titles), Les May and Sam Zavaglia with two each, and two time Australian Sports Sedan Series winner Darren Hossack who has also notched up a couple of Superkart title.

Superkarts attract huge numbers – well over 40 entries at their two-venue, four-round championship, all out to wrestle the three crowns off their current holders – Jason Smith, Brendan Luneman and Jeff Reed.