Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Mar 24, 2013


SALOON CAR CHAMPION Simon Tabinor was one of several big winners today as Round 1 of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals concluded at Sydney Motorsport Park, in New South Wales.

Tony Ricciardello opened his Kerrick Sports Sedan series title attack in style with a round win and victory in the Des Wall Trophy Race, whilst there were wild scenes in the final Kumho V8 Touring Car series race of the weekend – Shae Davis carving his way through the pack to bounce back from a drive-through penalty yesterday to take the win.

Neale Muston won the Radical Australia Cup round to continue his clean sweep of race wins – dating back to the start of 2012 – at his home circuit.

Today’s racing was held in hot but clear conditions at Sydney Motorsport Park with a large audience logging on to watch the racing online via the Shannons Nationals website.

British-born but Victorian-based Tabinor, last year’s Saloon Car series winner, won all three races in the six-cylinder Holden-versus-Ford series this weekend to kick off his title defence in style, driving a Holden Commodore.

Tabinor’s performance this weekend was complete – taking pole position and three victories in his VT Commodore to lead the Dial Before You Dig Saloon Car series after round one.

Gavin Ross was second in all three races and for the round, whilst Kane Baxter-Smith completed the top three.

Justin Garioch won the opening round of the Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series, though it took some post-round stewards intervention to do it.

The Makay-based driver was in the box seat to win the round in this afternoon’s final race before wild scenes following a safety car intervention caused mayhem.

A big dive by Morgan Haber into turn six on the last lap saw contact with Terry Wyhoon and Garioch, the winner of the first two races, coming off second best and – at the time – out of the round winning position.

Haber was penalised post-race for an earlier incident with Nathan Assalit - the penalty elevating Garioch one position up the final race order and back into the winning position he arguably deserved after dominating the opening two races of the round.

Despite the redemption, Garioch won’t actually lead the series into Round 2 at Mallala after a turn two, lap one incident with Tony Evangelou saw him receive a 10-point championship points penalty post-round.

Shae Davies came from fifth on the grid to win the third race – in his first V8 round – and scored second overall for the weekend, but will actually lead the series going into round two.

Tony Ricciardello was forced to work for his trophy in round one of the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series today, though he was able to win all three races.

Closest rivals Darren Hossack and Kerry Baily had mixed weekends, Hossack failing to finish race two after his car stopped at the final turn mid way though the 10-lap affair.

He recovered for the third race and charged his way through the field to be racing Ricciardello for the race lead in the feature before spinning off the circuit at speed at turn one, making contact with the tyre barriers in the process.

Hossack was uninjured but will trail his longstanding series rival by a hefty margin going into the second round, at Mallala, this April.

The third and final race of the weekend was run in memory of Des Wall, the Kerrick Sports Sedan series confirming today that the final race of the first round each season will be run in Wall’s honour.

Neale Muston continued his winning ways in the Radical Australia Cup, taking today’s second 50-minute race of the weekend ahead of Ash Samadi and Richard Kimber. Simon Haggarty won the SR3 class ahead of Liam Talbot and Greg Smith.

Russell Jamieson continued his domination of the opening round of the Rockpress Australian Superkart Championship, winning all four races and taking an early lead in the championship.

Former AFL superstar, Jason Akermanis, won his class for the weekend.

Chris Barry won the PRB Racing Series round – the first of two the series will run with the Shannons Nationals this year.

The next round of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals will be held at South Australia’s Mallala Raceway, between April 19-21.

Featured categories include the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series – and their iconic Clem Smith Cup race, the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series, Dial Before You Dig Saloon Cars and the opening rounds of both the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge and Australian Swift Racing Series.

Action from Sydney Motorsport Park will be broadcast in coming weeks on SBS Speedweek at the new Sunday afternoon timeslot of 2PM.

For more information and a complete TV guide head to