Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


May 25, 2013


POLE POSITION for Glenn Seton and Bob Pearson for tomorrow’s Great Southern Four Hour enduro and a first-up win for Jack LeBrocq in the Australian GT Championship were the big stories of a busy day at the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit.

Stunning speed from the Radical sports cars and a maiden win for a legendary name racing in the Suzuki Swifts capped off an action packed Saturday at round three of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals.

LeBrocq stormed to the race victory in the first of two, one-hour Australian GT Championship presented by Pirelli races held this weekend, dominating proceedings in his Erebus Motorsport Mercedes Benz SLS AMG.

| Click here for a qualifying report for the Great Southern Four Hour / Australian Manufacturers Championship.

Starting from pole, the young Melbournian held out an early challenge from John Bowe’s Ferrari to build a comfortable margin and lead through all but the compulsory pit stops en route to a strong win by more than 30 seconds.

On the resurfaced track he also scythed nearly four seconds from the existing Australian GT lap record in a professional display of domination.

Tony Quinn finished second in his Aston Martin Vantage, Roger Lago improving to third at the line in his Lamborghini with Bowe and Peter Edwards slipping to fourth at the line in the Ferrari.

Dean Koutsoumidis and Andrew McInnes finished fifth in their Audi R8 LMS Ultra to make it five brands in the top five.

The Australian GT Championship will return for a second one-hour enduro tomorrow.

Records were set in today’s pair of Radical Australia Cup sprint races – the curtain raisers ahead of tomorrow’s enduro that concludes the third round of this year’s Radical series.

British driver James Winslow smashed the class lap record in the first race, racing to second place behind Neale Muston – the points leader – after running wide at turn one.

In a storming drive, Winslow’s lap record of 1m25.9242s makes Radical’s SR8 V8 the second-fastest car ever to officially lap Phillip Island’s 4.46km Grand Prix circuit, behind only the 1m24.22s outright benchmark set in the year 2000, by Simon Wills in a Reynard Formula Holden.

Muston won both of today’s 8-lap sprints ahead of a 50-minute endurance race set for tomorrow, assuring the Corse Motorsport driver pole position for tomorrow’s major race.

Winslow finished second in race one with Ross Lilley third on his class debut, whilst Nick Kelly and Chris Medland completed the podium in race two.

Ben Grice, son of two-time Bathurst 1000 champion Allan, today won his first national-level car race when he took the flag to win race one of the Australian Swift Racing Series round this afternoon.

Grice, who earlier in the day took his second pole position from two rounds this year, dominated the 8-lap sprint race and won by a comfortable margin ahead of a group of four cars that crossed the line covered by just 0.6s.

Luke Fraiser edged out Keishi Ayukai, Callan Sayers and Allan Jarvis who all crossed the line in a group.

Chris Barry won the opening eight-lap race for the PRB Racing Series with a further two races shceduled for tomorrow.

Tomorrow’s racing will be broadcast live via