Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jun 22, 2013


HE ENTERED THE series at round two and won, then qualified fastest for round three earlier today before going quickest in the category’s first ever Top Ten Shootout for pole position. That is the story of Holden Commodore driver Wayne King in the Winton round of the Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Car Series.

But a late call for the compulsory pit stop in the 30-lap race one most likely cost him a victory. The race was won by series leader and defending title holder Simon Tabinor with King battling his way back from as low as 15th to take second place on the last lap, passing Travis Sharp’s Ford Falcon.

King had established a substantial lead by the time the first group headed to the pits for their CPS’ and his lead grew to around 10 seconds when the safety car was out because Brett Campbell’s Falcon lost a wheel out of turn four. King had just passed the pit entry when notified and had to keep going. He again ran away from the field at the resumption but a second safety car forced his hand.

Luke Westall (Falcon) took over the lead but Tabinor soon made inroads from resuming in fourth to pass the battling Andrew Nowland (Falcon), Sharp and Gavin Ross (Commodore) to wear down the front runner, take the lead and go onto win.

Sharp lost second to King at turn nine on the final tour while Nowland just held onto fourth over Ross after the pair swapped places on numerous occasions. Harley Phelan (Commodore) shadowed them across the line but was given a 30 second penalty for passing under yellow, thus relegated to ninth behind Ryan Millier’s brand new Falcon, and the Fords of Lindsay Kearns and Deni Razmovski.

Sunday’s action can be seen and heard live on the link from the, on SBS’ Speedweek on June 30 starting at 2pm, and later on Fox’s Speed at a time to be confirmed. More information and updates on the Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Cars are available at while complete details on the Shannons Nationals and all its categories can be viewed on


1  Wayne King (SA)  Holden Commodore VT  1:37.4979
2  Simon Tabinor (VIC)  Holden Commodore VT  1:37.7065
3  Travis Sharpe (WA)  Ford Falcon AU  1:37.9610
4  Luke Westall (NSW)  Ford Falcon AU  1:38.2531
5  Gavin Ross (VIC)  Holden Commodore VT  1:38.3233
6  Ryan Millier (VIC)  Ford Falcon AU  1:38.7785
7  Andrew Nowland (VIC)  Ford Falcon AU  1:38.8593
8  Kane Baxter-Smith (QLD)  Ford Falcon AU  1:38.9433
9  Craig Campbell (QLD)  Holden Commodore VT  1:38.9621
10  Lindsay Kearns (QLD)  Ford Falcon AU  1:38.9672
11  Garry Hills (WA)  Holden Commodore VT  1:39.0723
12  Harley Phelan (VIC)  Holden Commodore VT  1:39.5716
13  Brett Campbell (VIC)  Ford Falcon AU  1:39.7916
14  Shaun Woodhouse (VIC)  Holden Commodore VT  1:39.8896
15  Deni Razmovski (WA)  Ford Falcon AU  1:40.0165
16  Ian Chivas (NSW)  Ford Falcon AU  1:40.1604
17  Mark Primmer (NSW)  Ford Falcon AU  1:40.9033
18  Cameron Moss (NSW)  Ford Falcon AU  1:41.1832
19  Bradley Moss (NSW)  Ford Falcon AU  1:41.8124
20  Greg Murcott (VIC)  Ford Falcon AU  1:42.1601
21  Tony McKenzie (SA)  Holden Commodore VN  1:42.3227
22  Antonio Auddino (WA)  Ford Falcon AU  1:42.3308
23  Mark Bryan (SA)  Ford Falcon AU  1:43.9017
24  Kelli Stephens (VIC)  Ford Falcon AU  1:46.6785