Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Aug 1, 2013


AFTER THE SUCCESSFUL longer two races with compulsory pitstop event at the last round, it is back to the regular three sprint race format for fourth round of the Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Car Series at Queensland over the weekend of August 3-4.

Reigning title holder Simon Tabinor (Holden Commodore VT) has a hefty 165 point lead heading north but nothing is certain in the popular six cylinder Ford verse Holden six round series. He was in a similar situation last year and came away with less of an advantage then when he arrived as the Queensland Fords dominated the results.

Two of those were Lindsay Kearns and Kane Baxter-Smith in Falcon AUs and again they are expected to be among the top contenders, particularly as they have been competing in the whole series this year and are currently seventh and fifteenth respectively. Meanwhile the best of the Ford competitors has been series debutant Travis Sharpe all the way from West Australia and is currently third in the standings.

Tabinor will have to also be wary of fellow Victorians and Holden drivers Harley Phelan (third) and Gavin Ross (sixth) who is another on the national trail for the first time. Craig Campbell is another local, but Holden powered, who had put in some worthy performances so far and currently is placed fourth overall.

Making a return to the category and racing from just south of the Queensland and New South Wales border is David Rogers. He last effort – when the category had a round down the road at Morgan Park two years ago – resulted in severe damage to his Falcon. Meanwhile Wayne King who won the last two rounds in his Holden Commodore and is currently second in the series, has not the budget plan or time to travel this far from his South Australian base.

The Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Car Series will have two private practice sessions on Friday August 2 at 10:30am and 1pm, two qualifying sessions on August 3 at 8:30am and 10:50am and followed by the first of three races at 2:15pm. On Sunday there will be a further two races scheduled for 9:55am and 2:35pm.

Sunday’s action can be seen and heard live on the link from the, and later on SBS’ Speedweek and Fox’s Speed at times to be confirmed. More information and updates on the Dial Before You Dig Australian Saloon Cars are available at while complete details on the Shannons Nationals and all its categories can be viewed on


1        Eurostar Diesels                     Simon Tabinor (Vic)                Holden Commodore VT

8        PJT Accountants                    Wayne Patten (Qld)                Holden Commodore VT

9        Silkgate Group                       Ian Chivas (NSW)                   Ford Falcon AU

16      Kleenduct Australia                Harley Phelan (Vic)                 Holden Commodore VT

23      Tyre Pro Motorsport                Travis Sharpe (WA)                Ford Falcon AU

29      Glider City Motel Benalla        Bradley Moss (NSW)               Ford Falcon AU

38      Blackwell Race Engines          Gavin Ross (Vic)                     Holden Commodore VT

41      Dial Before You Dig                Mark Primmer (NSW)              Ford Falcon AU

42      Dial Before You Dig                Cameron Moss (NSW)             Ford Falcon AU

46      Isuzu                                     Gary Beggs (Qld)                   Holden Commodore VT

56      Baxter Electrical                     Kane Baxter-Smith (Qld)        Ford Falcon AU

57      Campbells Motorsport             Craig Campbell (Qld)              Holden Commodore VT

67      Scotts Rods Exhausts            Lindsay Kearns (Qld)              Ford Falcon AU

87      Multidrive Parts/Valvoline       David Rogers (Qld)                 Ford Falcon AU

88      Spraytech Smash Repairs       Brian Hine (Qld)                     Ford Falcon AU


Simon Tabinor (VT) 575, Wayne King (VT) 410, Harley Phelan (VT) 404, Travis Sharpe (AU) 375, Craig Campbell (VT) 341, Gavin Ross (VT) 331, Lindsay Kearns (AU) 330, Ian Chivas (AU) 294, Deni Razmovski (VN/AU) 276, Brett Campbell (AU) 271, Mark Primmer (AU) 248, Tony McKenzie (VN) 240, Andrew Nowland (AU) 188, Luke Westall (AU) 188, Kane Baxter-Smith (AU) 172, Robert Lonie (VT) 167, Shaun Woodhouse (VT) 166, Cameron Moss (AU) 164, Mark Bryan (AU) 163, Keven Stoopman (VT) 155, Bradley Moss (AU) 131, Greg Murcott (AU) 114, Tony James (VT) 106, Reginald Ralph (VT) 99, Matthew Palmer (VT) 98, Kelli Stephens (AU) 94, Naomi Maltby (VT) 87, Ryan Millier (AU) 80, Brian Hine (AU) 79, Coleby Cowham (AU) 61, Antonio Auddino (AU) 54, Dean Kelland (AU) 54, Wayne Patten (VT) 51, Frank Panizza (VT) 45, John Hanlon (EA) 44, Sam Milton (AU) 37.



Tony McKenzie 581, Deni Razmovski 180, John Hanlon 106.


Australian Saloon Car Champions/Series Winners

Simon Tabinor (Holden Commodore VT) 2012, Matt Lovell (Falcon AU) 2011,

Tim Rowse (Commodore VT) 2010, Shawn Jamieson (Commodore VT) 2009,

Steve Kwiatkowski (Falcon AU) 2008, Bruce Heinrich (Falcon AU) 2007,Heinrich (Falcon AU) 2006,

Heinrich (Falcon EA) 2005, Clint Harvey (Commodore VN) 2004,

Heinrich (Falcon EA) 2003, Heinrich (Falcon EA) 2002.


2013 Calendar

1. Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) – March 23-24

2. Mallala (SA) – April 20-21

3. Winton (Vic) – June 22-23

4. Queensland Raceway (Qld) – Aug 3-4

5. Phillip Island (Vic) – September 21-22

6. Sandown (Vic) – November 16-17