Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Aug 3, 2013


AFTER A NEAR race-long battle, Tony Ricciardello has emerged victorious in the first race of the third round of the Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series at Queensland Raceway this afternoon.

For much of the 12-lap race his Alfa/Chev shadowed the pole position sitting Audi/Chev of Darren Hossack until the tenth lap when Ricciardello slipped passed. “Lapped traffic played a part in the outcome twice, but in the end I didn’t have enough to hold him out,” Hossack admitted.

Reigning title holder Kerry Baily rued the fact he opted to run his old tyres and lagged behind the duo for the duration in his Aston Martin/Chev while fourth placed Shane Bradford was content in his performance in the Chev Camaro. “There was a small vibration but that could have been a disc rotor,” he said.

Bruce Banks was next in his Camaro clear of Daniel Tamasi’s Calibra/Chev which was almost run down by the chasing Pontiac of Jeff Barnes – they were separated by less than 0.2 seconds at the flag. In eighth was the Saab/Dodge of Anthony Cox who was involved in a four way dice with Colin Smith (Monaro/Chev), Bob McLoughlin (Commodore/Chev) and Michael Robinson’s Monaro/Chev for much of the race.

Phil Crompton’s Ford Mustang was fifth for a more than half the race but succumbed to an engine seal blow out, and joined the Shane Hart Mazda RX7 and the Damien Johnson Torana on the sidelines.

The Kerrick Sports Sedans are set to hit the circuit for races two and three scheduled for 10:25am and 3:05pm tomorrow Sunday, August 4.


1               Tony Ricciardello (WA)                         Alfa Romeo GTV/Chev V8                      13:57.9393

2               Darren Hossack (Vic)                            Audi A4/Chev V8                                    14:04.4809

3               Kerry Baily (Qld)                                    Aston Martin DBR9/Chev V8                 14:18.9176

4               Shane Bradford (Qld)                            Chev Camaro V8                                     14:26.0646

5               Bruce Banks (Tas)                                  Chev Camaro V8                                     14:28.8823

6               Daniel Tamasi (Vic)                               Holden Calibra/Chev V8                        14:30.9854

7               Jeff Barnes (Qld)                                     Pontiac Trans Am/Chev V8                    14:31.1658

8               Anthony Cox (Qld)                                Saab/Dodge V8                                        14:52.2203

9               Colin Smith (Qld)                                   Holden Monaro/Chev V8                       14:56.7039

10             Bob McLoughlin (NZ)                           Holden Commodore/Chev V8                14:58.1746

11             Michael Robinson (Vic)                         Holden Monaro/Chev V8                       15:01.4406

12             Charlie Senese (Qld)                              Chev Corvette V8                                    11 laps

13             Garry Aston (Qld)                                  Holden Commodore Turbo                     11 laps

DNF         Phil Crompton (Qld)                              Ford Mustang V8                                     7 laps

DNF         Damian Johnson (Vic)                           Holden Torana 3300                                7 laps

DNF         Shane Hart (Qld)                                   Mazda RX7 Turbo                                   6 laps

DNS         Dameon Jameson (NSW)                      Jaguar XKR/Chev V8

Fastest lap: Darren Hossack 1:08.8535