Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Oct 20, 2013


AFTER TWO DRAMATIC changes of lead, it was Nathan Morcom who brought Garry Holt's Eastern Creek Karting Mitsubishi Lance Evo X home to win the first race at round four of the Australian Manufacturers Championship for Production Cars at Wakefield Park yesterday.

Holt had done all the early week, establishing a handy lead over the CXC Global Evo of Dylan Thomas before handing over to his young co-driver. Morcom held the lead until an error caused him to spin and surrender the lead.

Thomas went ahead and established what looked to be a race winning advantage until engine dramas ten laps from the finish of the 90-lap race stopped them near the start/finish line. Morcom reclaimed the lead to the end, despite a late stop for a splash of fuel to also be the winner in Extreme Performance Class A.

Second and on the same lap in the end was the father/son combination of Robert and Shane Marshall in the Melbourne Performance Centre Evo on debut while third went to the Luke Searle BMW M135i which survived a brush with the concrete wall and a second precautionary stop. It too was on debut and won High Performance Class B.

The GWS Personnel BMW 335i of Peter O'Donnell and Garry Mennell also required a late fuel top-up before finishing fourth ahead of the team BMW 130i of brothers Scott and Mike Gore which won Class C for Performance Touring after class leader Jake Camilleri went out two driveshaft failures.

Coming home is sixth outright was the Production Touring Class D winner Jake Camilleri in the Hankook Honda Integra that not only survived a clash with the similar Honda of Anthony Robson/Peter Conroy but beat the fastest qualifying Pedders Suspension Toyota 86 GT of Grant Phillips and Andrew Turpie..

Beric Lynton ran most of the race in his Alphera Financial Services BMW 1M with no turbo boost, yet still finished eighth ahead of the West End Mazda 6 MPS of Adam Dodd/Mark Bell which had additional stop to sort out a radio communications issue and then a drive through penalty for excessive speed in the lane.

The Hankook Mazda Astina of Kevin Herben finished tenth and won Compact Touring Class E the retirement list included the Trevor Keene/Keen Booker MidWest Multimedia Mini Cooper S (overheating), the Mark Eddy/Francois Jouy Renault Megane with clutch issues, Tony Alford's Donut Kings M1 (blown turbo) and the Anthony Robson/Peter Conroy Honda Integra.

All that action can be seen on Speedweek, screening at a time to be advised on both SBS and Speed TV on Fox. There will be updates on Facebook ( and the website ( across the weekend.


1 G.Holt/N.Morcom Mitsubishi Evo 10 1:43:36.5783
2 R.Marshall/S.Marshall Mitsubishi Evo 10 1:44:07.9395
3 Luke Searle BMW M135i 89 laps
4 P.O'Donnell/G.Mennell BMW 335i 88 laps
5 S.Gore/M.Gore BMW 130i 87 laps
6 Jake Williams Honda Integra R 86 laps
7 G.Phillips/A.Turpie Toyota 86 GTS 86 laps
8 Beric Lynton BMW 1M 86 laps
9 Adam Dodd/Mark Bell Mazda 6 MPS 85 laps
10 Kevin Herben Mazda 323 Astra 80 laps
DNF Dylan Thomas Mitsubishi Evo 10 79 laps
DNF A.Robson/P.Conroy Honda Integra 72 laps
DNF Jake Camilleri Mazda 3 MPS 62 laps
DNF T.Keene/K.Booker Mini Cooper S 50 laps
DNF M.Eddy/F.Jouy Renault Megane RS265 46 laps

Class A – Extreme Performance
1 Garry Holt/Nathan Morcom Mitsubishi Evo 10

Class B – High Performance
1 Luke Searle BMW M135i

Class C – Performance Touring
1 Scott Gore/Mike ..Gore BMW 130i

Class D – Production Touring
1 Jake Williams Honda Integra

Class E – Compact Touring
1 Kevin Herben Mazda 323 Astra

Round 1 May 25-26 Phillip Island, Vic
Round 2 July 12-13 Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW
Round 3 August 3-4 Queensland Raceway, Qld
Round 4 October 19-20 Wakefield Park, Qld
Round 5 November 16-17 Sandown, Vic