Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Nov 14, 2013


A TWO-DRIVER, THREE HOUR Production Car race will conclude the Australian Manufacturers Championship (AMChamps) and the Shannons Nationals for 2013 at Sandown Raceway this weekend.

Championship leader Garry Holt is poised to add another scalp to an already impressive list of accomplishments in Australian Production Car racing.

He previously won in the Australian Production Car Championship in 2007 and 2009 in a BMW 335i after taking out the Australian Performance Car Championship in 2006 at the wheel of a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8. In the same BMW he also scored success in the revival of the Bathurst 12 Hour in 2007 as well as 2010.

He only needs one point to secure the title, and could wrap it up by qualifying fastest for the three-hour endurance race that takes place on Sunday November 17. It has been a remarkable comeback this year for the Eastern Creek Karting proprietor who didn’t finish the opening round and was lucky to score good points at the second following a faulty fuel hose fire. But since then his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X that has been shared Ryan McLeod and Nathan Morcom, has scored three race wins and a very close second.

Morcom has been enlisted to take the co-driver reigns for the fifth and final round with their main opposition expected to come from the unlucky CXC Global Evo X of Dylan Thomas. Recently it has been in a winning position previously only to be overcome with mechanical failures. It also had the second round in the bag until robbed by a technical ruling. Three time AMC driver’s winner Stuart Kostera returns to the team to fill the co-driver duties.

In an grand confrontation for outright and Class A Extreme Performance honours, Robert and Shane Marshall return in their new Melbourne Performance Centre Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X along with the BMW M1 challenge from Alphera Finance Services Beric Lynton and Matt MacKeldon and Donut King’s Tony Alford and Peter Leemhuis.

Michael Benton will attempt to secure High Performance Class B and has former Group A, Auscar, Nascar and V8 Supercar John Faulkner along to help out in the Lovton Coal Falcon FPV GT. Their major class rival the GWS Personnel BMW 335i Peter O’Donnell which had mixed fortunes at the last round. Shared by Garry Mennell, they scored a fourth outright before a blown turbo ended the weekend prematurely. Both teams will have good rivalry with the Class I Invitation ex-Steve Briffa HSV Clubsport of Chris Slacksmith who will share the car with its former owner.

For the first time since joining the production class from Saloon Cars, Jake Camilleri and his Grand Prix Mazda 3 MPS will be missing from Class C Performance Touring. Ongoing mechanical issues for the class winner and outright contender has forced the team to chase the problems for a better 2014. The bigger brother West End Mazda 6 MPS of Adam Dodd currently leads the class from Scott Gore in the GWS Personnel BMW 130i while the new Mark Eddy and Francois Jouy Renault Megane RS 265 and the returning Colin Osborne Motorsport Mazda 3 MPS will make this a tough task in a competitive class.

Honda and Toyota go head-to-head in Class D Production Touring with the Jake Williams/Geoff Rands Hankook Tyres Integra Type R up against the Pedders Suspension Toyota 86 GT Grant Phillip/Andrew Turpie. Williams won at the last round but Phillips is in the strongest position with a 29-point advantage. In Class E Compact Touring there is only one Hankook Mazda Astina entry for Sarah Harley and Kevin Herben. Who qualifies fastest of the two, could well determine the class victor.

All that action can be seen on Speedweek, screening at a time to be advised on both SBS and Speed TV on Fox. There will be updates on Facebook ( and the website ( across the weekend.


Class A – Extreme Performance


Eastern Creek Karting

Garry Holt (NSW)/Nathan Morcom (NSW)

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X


Melbourne Performance Centre

Robert Marshall (Vic)/Shane Marshall (Vic)

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X


Alphera Financial Services

Beric Lynton (Qld)/ Matt MacKelden (Qld)



Donut King

Tony Alford (Qld)/Peter Leemhuis (ACT)



CXC Global

Dylan Thomas (NSW)/Stuart Kostera (WA)

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X

Class B – High Performance


Lovton Coal

Michael Benton (Qld)/John Faulkner (Qld)

Ford Falcon FG FPV GT


GWS Personnel

Peter O'Donnell (NSW)/Garry Mennell (NSW)

BMW 335i


Class C – Performance Touring


Osborne Motorsport

Colin Osborne (NSW)/tba

Mazda 3 MPS


GWS Personnel

Scott Gore (Qld)/Anthony Kosseris (NSW)

BMW 130i


AAW Australian Auto Wreckers

George Karadimas (Vic)/Matt Lehmann (Vic)

Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo


West End Mazda

Adam Dodd (NSW)/tba

Mazda 6 MPS


Network Clothing/Dentbuster

Mark Eddy (Vic)/Francois Jouy (NSW)

Renault Megane RS265


Class D – Production Touring


Disc Brakes Australia

Jake Williams (NSW)/Jake Rands (NSW)

Honda Integra R


Pedders/Bosch Racing

Grant Phillips (Vic)/Andrew Turpie (Vic)

Toyota 86 GT

Class E – Compact Touring


Disc Brakes Australia

Kevin Herben (NSW)/Sarah Harley (Qld)

Mazda 323 Astra

Class I – Invitation


Peak Airconditioning

Steve Briffa (NSW)/Chris Slacksmith (NSW)




Round 1                        May 25-26                                 Phillip Island, Vic

Round 2                        July 12-13                                  Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW

Round 3                        August 3-4                                Queensland Raceway, Qld

Round 4                        October 19-20                           Wakefield Park, Qld

Round 5                        November 16-17                     Sandown, Vic


Friday November 15               Free Practice 10:25; 11:50; 13:05

Saturday November 16          Practice 10:30; Qualifying 12:20; 13:50

Sunday November 17             Warm Up 11:05; Three Hour Race 13:40


Outright: Garry Holt 347, Ryan McLeod 227, Glenn Seton 190, Michael Benton 180, Geoff Russell 180, Beric Lynton 174, Grant Sherrin 154, Mark Eddy 153, Iain Sherrin 150, Francois Jouy 147, Peter O'Donnell 144, Scott Gore 141, Michael Gore 141, Adam Dodd 126, Mark Bell 126, Bob Pearson 120, Nathan Morcom 120, Jake Williams 117, John Bowe 116, Jake Camilleri 110, Andrew Turpie 107, Grant Phillips 105, Robert Marshall 75, Shane Marshall 75, Luke Searle 74, Scott Nicholas 72, Brendan Stone 72, Tony Alford 63, Tim Leahey 60, Sarah Harley 56, Jeremy Gray 39, Brent Edwards 39, Colin Osborne 36, Hadrian Morrall 36, Terry Conroy 30, Gary Mennell 30, Michael Gray 24, Kevin Herben 23, Dylan Thomas 18, Ryan Simpson 18, Pieter Faulkner 18, Jason Hore 18, Chris Brown 15, Greg Jenkings 15, Anthony Robson 15, Peter Conroy 15.

Class A: Holt 347, Lynton 246, McLeod 227, Seton 214, Morcom 120, Pearson 120, Leahey 90, R.Marshall 81, S.Marshall 81, Alford 72, Thomas 72, Simpson 72.

Class B: Benton 297, Russell 297, G.Sherrin 229, I.Sherrin 225, O'Donnell 225, Bowe 182, Searle 122, Gray 72, Edwards 72, Mennell 45.

Class C: Dodd 354, Bell 354, S.Gore 300, M.Gore 300, Camilleri 188, Nicholas 120, Osborne 90, Morrall 90, Eddy 60, Jouy 60.

Class D: Eddy 321, Jouy 315, Turpie 269, Phillips 267, Williams 240, Stone 120, Harley 90, Gray 90, Robson 36, P.Conroy 36.

Class E: Sarah Harley 122, Kevin Herben 122, T.Conroy 120.

Class I: Faulkner 60, Hore 60, Brown 45, Jenkings 45.

Manufacturers: BMW 893, Mazda 753, Mitsubishi 708, Honda 663, Ford 369, Toyota 267, Renault 60.