Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Apr 23, 2014


SOUTH AUSTRALIANS ARE SET TO SHINE when the Dial Before You Dig Australian Super Six Touring Car Series hits Mallala Motorsport Park on the ANZAC weekend of April 25-27.

The champions of 2009 and 2011 are returning to the popular six cylinder Ford verse Holden series.

Matt Lovell and his Batteries Direct Ford Falcon AU will return to their home track, as too Shawn Jamieson who will take the wheel of the car he built for West Australia’s Tony James.

“I haven’t had a run for over two years and I can’t wait to go racing,” Lovell said. “I’ve done a few checks, and she started and ran as if it just as it last came off the track. It still makes great horsepower and handling will be no real drama.

“This is by far the best car we have ever built. With the help of a couple of mates (Billy Sullivan and Greg Print), we put it together in six weeks and went out and won the championship.”

Meanwhile Jamieson has been racing occasionally in the V8 Touring Car Series, the odd state Saloon Car round, testing the James car, as well as Wayne King’s VT which Jamieson also built.

Local specialist King dominated the this round last year and is looking to get his title aspirations back on track, teaming up with Jamieson, after a gearbox failure in his Morphett Vale Garages Holden Commodore VT wrecked his weekend at round one.

Victorians have won the last two titles and already have the points on the board with a one-two result at the opening Sandown Park Shannons Nationals round.

Travis Lindorff and Gavin Ross in their Pakenham Tyres and Trik Trailers Holdens respectively, headed the results, while the best of the interstaters were the Pfitzner Performances Gearboxes Ford of Queenslander Kane Baxter-Smith ahead of NSW’s Luke Westall in his Transley Solutions Falcon AU.

West Australians Chris Lillis, in the 2012 and 2013 series winning Cachet Homes Commodore VT, and the Rick Gill Motorcycles AU of Rick Gill will want to continue their first round form while Harley Phelan will look to improve from Sandown in his Kleenduct Commodore.

Queenslander Ben Grice returns after a dramatic rollover in the ex-Geoff Brown Ford in the newly re-built Falcon AU. “We replaced every panel on the car, including the roof,” said 501 Performance’s Les Morrell, the owner of the car. “We also own the car Brent Edwards is racing.” Edwards competed the opening round in an earlier model before his debut in the Truck Phones AU this weekend.

The category welcomed newcomers Jason Leoncini in a Holden Commodore while Phil Gray had already made the move to an AU at the opening round while West Australian Tony Auddino who featured in a strong move up the order, and has an upgraded paint scheme for this round.

The Dial Before You Dig team Falcons of Mark Primmer and Cameron Moss had contrasting weekends. Primmer came out as the points leader of Division Two while young Moss had to recover from a scary front disc brake shatter. Brad Day, the 16-year-old younger brother of Dan Day who races in V8 Touring Cars, makes his national series debut in the front running Holden Commodore of Josh Kean, formerly ran by Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge racer John Goodacre.

There are 19 entries for the second round with 11 Fords and eight Holdens. Numerically Victorians head the entry list with six, South Australia has five while West Aussies number up with three, NSW three and from Queensland have two making the journey.

Mallala Entry List

--POINTS - OUTRIGHT----------------------------

Travis Lindorff (Vic) 175, Gavin Ross (Vic) 166, Kane Baxter-Smith (Qld) 157, Luke Westall (NSW) 134, Matthew Palmer (Vic) 131, Chris Lillis (WA) 115, Rick Gill (WA) 105, Harley Phelan (Vic) 96, Mark Primmer (NSW) 89, Tony Auddino (WA) 86, David Wright (Vic) 85, Tony James (WA) 84, Wayne King (SA) 84, Ian Chivas (NSW) 81, Greg Murcott (Vic) 71, Shaun Woodhouse (Vic) 61, Phil Gray (Vic) 51, Cameron Moss (NSW) 50, Wayne Bates (Vic) 45, Ben Grice (Qld) 34, Jason Leoncini (Vic) 22.

--POINTS - DIVISION TWO-----------------------

Primmer 164, Auddino 153, Wright 146, Chivas 134, Murcott 107, Woodhouse 106, Gray 81, Moss 78, Bates 65, Grice 60, Leoncini 32.



FRIDAY April 25

8:30, 10:35, 13:40

Super Six Touring Car Series Practice



Super Six Touring Car Series Practice


10:55, 1:20

Super Six Touring Car Series Qualifying



Super Six Touring Car Series Race One

SUNDAY April 27


Super Six Touring Car Series Race Two

SUNDAY April 27


Super Six Touring Car Series Race Three



Round One

March 28-30

Sandown Raceway, Victoria

Round Two

April 25-27

Mallala Motorsport Park, South Australia

Round Three

June 13-15

Winton Raceway, Victoria

Round Four

August 8-10

Queensland Raceway, Queensland

Round Five

September 19-21

Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Victoria

Round Six

October 17-19

Wakefield Park, New South Wales


2013 Simon Tabinor (Commodore)

2012 Simon Tabinor (Commodore)

2011 Matt Lovell (Falcon)

2010 Tim Rowse (Commodore)

2009 Shawn Jamieson (Commodore)

2008 Steve Kwiatkowski (Falcon)

2007 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)

2006 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)

2005 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)

2004 Clint Harvey (Commodore)

2003 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)

2002 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)