Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


May 25, 2014


The Porsche Carrera Cup Australia Championship ProAm and Radical Australia Cup have provided plenty of thrills and spills during round three of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals at Phillip Island.

Three different winners from three races highlighted a competitive third round of the 2014 Radical Australia Cup, John Corbett and Tim Berryman adding their names to the list of winners on Sunday, following Peter White’s race one triumph.

Berryman held out a fast-finishing Neale Muston by just 0.5s at the end of race two, held in wet conditions following an immense downpour prior to the race that caused the start to be delayed nearly half-an-hour.

Michael Shaw finished third outright and won the SR3 class over John Morriss.

The final race of the round featured five different leaders across its 19-lap duration, John Corbett edging out Berryman in a thriller by just 0.2s at the line.

Corbett assumed the lead when early leader Muston stopped on lap eleven, Berryman scything his way through the field to grab second on the final lap and close on the leader in the run to the checkered flag, falling agonisingly short.

Greg Smith completed the podium ahead of SR3 class winner Peter Johnston.

Scott McLaughlin and Steven Grove sensationally won the Porsche Carrera Cup Pro-Am round, while Nick Percat held off McLaughlin to take victory in a thriller race on Sunday.

(Photo thank to EDGE Photogaphic)

Percat and co-driver Shane Smollen started the second race from 13th position however a strong early stint from Smollen saw the car handed over to his V8 Supercar-regular co-driver in a strong position.

Percat quickly worked his way to the front of the field and established a margin, while McLaughlin set about carving his way through the field in the Grove Racing Porsche.

He found more than 10 seconds and moved from fifth to second within the final ten minutes of the shortened 50-minute race, getting to the rear bumper of his V8 Supercar rival on the final lap. The pair went side-by-side through MG on the last lap, though Percat was able to defend his position and scrape through for a narrow win.

Saturday winners Craig Baird and Max Twigg won the professional class at Phillip Island, while Grove and McLaughlin not only won the overall event, but the Elite class as well.

While today’s race featured several non-finishers, it was a cleaner affair than Saturday’s bruising one-hour race that saw several cars badly damaged in on-track incidents and a record-breaking 10 finishers out of the 20 starters.

Remarkably, all except two cars were able to take the start in Sunday’s final race.

A full report from the Great Southern 4 hour Australian Manufacturers Championship race will follow.