Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jun 11, 2014


RACING IN the Dial Before You Dig Australian Super Six Touring Car Series at Winton on June 14-15 will be a little different from the normal.

Instead of the usual three-race format, the popular Ford Falcon verse Holden Commodore six cylinder series will be over two races – longer than normal, will include a compulsory 30-second pitstop and be preceded by a top ten shootout.

This is the second year Dial Before You Dig Challenge has been contested and despite the different format, the usual protagonists ruled at the front last year. Then it was front runners Simon Tabinor, Wayne King and Travis Sharpe over the two races but all three are not contesting the series in season 2014.

Blackwell Race Engines Holden Commodore VT driver Gavin Ross from Victoria, qualified a poor fifth at the last round, but left Mallala with the series lead over former points front runner Travis Lindorff (Vic) and his Pakenham Tyres Commodore.

“We are really focused on winning the series this year as well as looking forward to the challenge of competing against the best in Australia,” Ross said. “I am really looking forward to getting stuck in this weekend and having some fun as well.”

Signs of a Ford revival were heralded by Queenslander Kane Baxter-Smith who finished second at round two in his Pfitzner Performance Gearboxes Falcon AU, is third in the series, and more importantly, scored a race win – the first for the blue oval brand this year.

“Winton 2013 was a terrible round for us with a racing incident in race one and mechanical failure in race two. This time around some serious preparation has taken place, and on-board reliability is looking good,” reported an optimistic Baxter-Smith.

Lindorff will be hoping to get his campaign back on track after a disappointing last outing. “We found a few problems with the car after Mallala. It was not nice to drive there, so I think we will have better car speed for this round.”

The one they will all be watching out for is 2009 series winner Shawn Jamieson in his BRE/Morphett Vale Garages VT, a car he built for King and recently purchased. South Aussie Jamieson ran the sister car he built for Tony James at the last round, and scored sixth overall for the round, despite failing to finish one race. But he did charge from last to fourth in race two and then won race three.

Quietly backing up Baxter-Smith will be NSW’s Luke Westall in his Transley Solutions Falcon AU. The combination were fourth and third overall at the last two rounds while West Australians Chris Lillis ((Cachet Homes Commodore) and Rick Gill (Rick Gill Motorcycles AU) will want to continue to snap at the leaders’ heels along with Victorian Harley Phelan in his Kleenduct Commodore.

Queenslander Ben Grice joins his Victorian 501 Performance team mate Brent Edwards (Truck Phones AU) in a pair of black Fords after they diced with the improving Jason Leoncini (Vic) in his Inland Motor Body Works Commodore at the last round. Winton will see the addition of first timer Glen Postlethwaite, the local has been involved in Supersprints on his home circuit and makes his series debut in his Commodore.

Sandown rookie David Wight (All In 1 Service Center AU) and Highway Patrol officer Shaun Woodhouse (Sopranos Pizza Bar Holden) return after missing the last round, joining the Falcons of Mark Bryan (Bridge Model Cars AU) Phil Gray ( Ford), Tony Auddino (First Nationals Ford) and the Dial Before You Dig Ford duo of team mates Mark Primmer and Cameron Moss.

There are 19 entries for the second round with 11 Fords and eight Holdens. Numerically Victorians head the entry list with nine, South Australia has two while West Aussies number up with three, NSW three and from Queensland there are two making the journey.

--ENTRY LIST-------------------------------






501 Performance

Ben Grice (Qld)

Ford Falcon AU


Inland Motor Body Works

Jason Leoncini (Vic)

Holden Commodore VT


Auddino First National

Tony Auddino (WA)

Ford Falcon AU


Phil Gray (Vic)

Ford Falcon AU


BRE/Morphett Vale Garage

Shawn Jamieson (SA)

Holden Commodore VT


Kleenduct Australia P/L

Harley Phelan (Vic)

Holden Commodore VT


Brent Edwards (Vic)

Ford Falcon AU


Transley Solutions

Luke Westall (NSW)

Ford Falcon AU


All In 1 Service Center

David Wright (Vic)

Ford Falcon AU


Blackwell Race Engines

Gavin Ross (Vic)

Holden Commodore VT


Dial Before You Dig

Mark Primmer (NSW)

Ford Falcon AU


Dial Before You Dig

Cameron Moss (NSW)

Ford Falcon AU


Sopranos Pizza Bar

Shaun Woodhouse (Vic)

Holden Commodore VT


Pakenham Tyres

Travis Lindorff (Vic)

Holden Commodore VT


PPG Racing

Kane Baxter-Smith (Qld)

Ford Falcon AU


Bridge Model Cars

Mark Bryan (SA)

Ford Falcon AU


Cachet Homes

Chris Lillis (WA)

Holden Commodore VT


Rick Gill Motorcycles

Rick Gill (WA)

Ford Falcon AU



Glen Postlethwaite (Vic)

Holden Commodore VT