Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jun 15, 2014


Rookie Ruggier again impresses and local Chahda collects first podium finish

RYAN SIMPSON has extended his Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series winning streak to five straight rounds after claiming a pair of race victories Sunday at Winton Motor Raceway.

Sydneysider Simpson has won the first two rounds of this year’s series in his ex-Craig Lowndes Falcon, extending his points margin over rookie Justin Ruggier to 40 points.

Ruggier, driving for Eggleston Motorsport, finished second in both of Sunday’s races to score another podium finish in just his second weekend in the category for ex-V8 Supercars.

Local Albury driver Matt Chahda finished third for the weekend in his ex-Jason Bright Falcon and, in doing so, claimed his first Kumho Series podium result.

The young gun bounced back from failing to finish yesterday’s opening race to round out the podium for the weekend.

STR Truck Bodies Falcon driver Matthew Palmer finished a career-best fourth for the round and now also sits fourth in the series.

However, a range of other drivers found themselves with various dramas over the course of the weekend.

Commodore pilots Steve Briffa and Aaron Tebb were both penalised 10 series points for contact at the restart of Race 1 on Saturday. They again made contact in Race 2 today, both dropping back down the pack.

Briffa and Falcon driver Simon Tabinor were both later excluded from Race 2 for a technical breach of the fuel regulations.

Tabinor was then given a pit lane penalty in the 15-lap final race for contact at the first corner with Chris Delfsma.

Last year’s Winton round winner Tony Evangelou endured a disastrous weekend in his ex-Ford Performance Racing CAT Falcon, failing to score a single point across the three races.

He clashed with Matthew Palmer in Race 1 on Saturday and failed to finish. Starter motor problems forced him to start from pit lane for Race 2 today though he retired after just one lap and in Race 3 he was running strongly until an engine header broke mid-race.

Coverage of this weekend’s Winton round of the series will be shown on SBS’ ‘Speedweek’ on Sunday June 29 with a one-hour program to follow at a later date on SPEED TV Australia.

The next round of the Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series will be at Queensland Raceway on August 9/10.

Winton Round Result

1. Ryan Simpson, #88 Parramatta Smash Repairs Falcon BF, 143 pts

2. Justin Ruggier, #54 Eggleston Motorsport Commodore VZ, 123 pts

3. Matt Chahda, #18 Falcon Spares Falcon BA, 93 pts

4. Matthew Palmer, #48 STR Truck Bodies Falcon BF, 82 pts

5. Aaron Tebb #5 Voight Contracting Commodore VZ, 81 pts

6. Chris Delfsma, #21 Century 21 Falcon BA, 69 pts

7. Steve Briffa, #8 Poco Commodore VY, 58 pts

8. Simon Tabinor, #14 Falcon BF, 53 pts

9. Tony Evangelou, #6 501 Performance Falcon BF, 0 pts

Series Points After Round 2 of 6

1. Ryan Simpson, 286 pts

2. Justin Ruggier, 246 pts

3. Matt Chahda, 171 pts

4. Matthew Palmer, 139 pts

5. Simon Tabinor, 114 pts

6. Steve Briffa, 107 pts

7. Chris Smerdon, 99 pts

8. Chris Delfsma, 74 pts

9. Aaron Tebb, 71 pts

10. Gerard McLeod, 52 pts