Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Aug 7, 2014

Late Additions To Queensland Kumho Round

Drew Russell to make series debut

THERE are some last minute additions and changes to the entry list for this weekend’s third round of the Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series at Queensland Raceway.

Former V8 Supercar Development Series driver Drew Russell will make his Kumho Series in debut in the second Matt Palmer-owned STR Truck Bodies entry.

Russell, whose younger brother Aaren finished on the podium last weekend at Ipswich in the Dunlop Series, has not raced this season and will drive an ex-Brad Jones Racing Falcon BF.

Russell drove the exact same car during his time in the DVS – Gerard McLeod drove it in the opening round of this year’s Kumho Series at Mallala.

MW Motorsport will make its first appearance of 2014 in the Kumho Series, entering a pair of ex-Ford Performance Racing Falcon BFs.

Young Queenslander Ryan Cochran is confirmed to drive one of the entries and will make his Kumho Series debut this weekend.

Cochran is a former karter who also raced state Formula Ford in Queensland and in recent year competed in the Oz Truck Championship, winning the series in 2012.

The second car remains without a signed driver – it may run on Friday during private practice in the hands of team owner Matthew White.

Sadly, rookie Brendan Strong is a scratching from the weekend’s round. His ex-Lansvale Commodore suffered engine dramas during testing at Morgan Park on Wednesday and he will now focus on the next round at Phillip Island in September.

The weekend’s entry list now sits at 11 cars with Shane Hunt to appear in his ex-Triple Eight Falcon BF, John Vergotis returning in his OzEmail Falcon and local Queenslander Ramon Connell racing his ex-Cameron McLean Falcon AU.

Series leader Ryan Simpson and impressive rookie Justin Ruggier lead the field for this weekend with Race 1 on Saturday the 100th in the category’s history.

There will be two more races on Sunday afternoon to complete the round.