Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Sep 19, 2014


THE FIFTH round of the DIAL BEFORE YOU DIG Australian Super 6 Touring Car Series will be the most competitive round to date with not one, but two former champions set to take on the established stars at Phillip Island this weekend.

The series victor of 2009, Shawn Jamieson has already participated at two rounds and has had race wins. He is back for this one in the BRE/Morphett Vale Garage Holden Commodore VT and will be joined by the most recent title holder, two-time series winner Simon Tabinor.

Ironically Tabinor will drive a former Jamieson Holden which Tabinor recently purchased off Wayne Patten. “We have totally stripped the car and rebuild it,” said Tabinor. “It’s been a huge effort by everyone to, especially Trav at Casey Accident Repair as well as Johnny and Rene.”

Travis Lindorff not only worked on the car but has had to prepare his own Pakenham Tyres VT which currently leads the 2014 points score. It is a three-way fight for the title with fellow Victorian Gavin Ross (Carpet Shed VT) and Queenslander Kane Baxter-Smith. Jamieson and Tabinor are the potential spoilers in the equation.

The latter’s Pfitzner Performance Gearboxes Ford Falcon AU had a clean sweep of the three races at the most recent Queensland Raceway, beating the Holdens of Ross, Lindorff and swiftly improving rookie Jason Leoncini in his Dej’s Party Shop VT. “After winning all three races, PPG Racing is looking to continue form at this weekend’s Phillip Island round,” said Baxter-Smith.

There is an influx of West Australians making the transcontinental trek, including the ex-Tabinor VT in the hands of Chris Lillis. The Cachet Homes VT was very quick in Queensland but clutch and gearbox issues thwarted a better result.

Belying their positions in Division 2, Leoncini and Ben Grice (Hinde Transport AU) have taken the fight up to the front runners at the two most recent rounds, Winton and Queensland Raceway, and are again expected to feature at the point end.


1    Simon Tabinor (Vic)    Holden Commodore VT
2    GAG/Hinde Transport    Ben Grice (Qld)    Ford Falcon AU
3    Dej's Party Shop    Jason Leoncini (Vic)    Holden Commodore VT
Tony Auddino (WA)    Ford Falcon AU
6    Morphett Vale Garage    Wayne King (SA)    Holden Commodore VT
7    Phil Gray (Vic)    Ford Falcon AU
9    Silkgate Group    Ian Chivas (NSW)    Ford Falcon AU
10    BRE/ Morphett Vale Garage    Shawn Jamieson (SA)    Holden Commodore VT
11    News Expree Maffra    Brett Pope (Vic)    Holden Commodore VT
12    Cachet Homes/ Wrek King    Vince Ciallella (WA)    Holden Commodore VT
16    Kleenduct Australia P/L    Harley Phelan (Vic)    Holden Commodore VT
18    Brent Edwards (Vic)    Ford Falcon AU
21    Martin Engineering    Matt Martin (WA)    Holden Commodore VT
22    V8 Drive Day    Steve Martin (WA)    Holden Commodore VT
25    Steet Fighter    Brad Day (SA)    Holden Commodore VT
27    Transley Solutions    Luke Westall (NSW)    Ford Falcon AU
33    Forklift Clearance Centre    Greg Murcott (Vic)    Holden Commodore VT
35    Cavehill Engine Services    Daniel Johnson (Vic)    Ford Falcon AU
37    All In 1 Service Center    David Wright (Vic)    Ford Falcon AU
38    Carpet Shed    Gavin Ross (Vic)    Holden Commodore VT
41    Dial Before You Dig    Mark Primmer (NSW)    Ford Falcon AU
42    Dial Before You Dig    Cameron Moss (NSW)    Ford Falcon AU
51    Pakenham Tyres     Travis Lindorff (Vic)    Holden Commodore VT
56    PPG Racing    Kane Baxter-Smith (Qld)    Ford Falcon AU
64    Cachet Homes    Chris Lillis (WA)    Holden Commodore VT
68    Sails Apartments Merimbula     Wayne Bates (Vic)    Ford Falcon AU
76    Hills Haulage    Garry Hills (WA)    Holden Commodore VT
81    Rick Gill Motorcycles    Rick Gill (WA)    Ford Falcon AU
95    Glen Postlethwaite    Glen Postlethwaite (Vic)    Holden Commodore VT

Travis Lindorff 541,  Gavin Ross 529,  Kane Baxter-Smith 477,  Luke Westall 432,  Harley Phelan 357,  Rick Gill 342,  Chris Lillis 330,  Mark Primmer 251,  Cameron Moss 246,  Ben Grice 235,  Jason Leoncini 235,  David Wright 233,  Phil Gray 232,  Tony Auddino 229,  Shawn Jamieson 213,  Shaun Woodhouse 205,  Brent Edwards 160,  Matthew Palmer 131,  Matthew Lovell 125,  Mark Bryan 112,  Brad Day 92,  Wayne King 84,  Tony James 84,  Ian Chivas 81,  Greg Murcott 71,  Glen Postlethwaite 54,  Dylan Richter 51,  Wayne Bates 45.

Mark Primmer 396,  Cameron Moss 377,  Tony Auddino 369,  David Wright 360,  Phil Gray 334,  Ben Grice 329,  Jason Leoncini 324,  Shaun Woodhouse 318,  Brent Edwards 268,  Brad Day 157, Ian Chivas 134,  Mark Bryan 132,  Greg Murcott 107,  Dylan Richter 77,  Glen Postlethwaite 74,  Wayne Bates 65.

2013 Simon Tabinor (Commodore)    2012 Simon Tabinor (Commodore)
2011 Matt Lovell (Falcon)    2010 Tim Rowse (Commodore)
2009 Shawn Jamieson (Commodore)    2008 Steve Kwiatkowski (Falcon)
2007 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)    2006 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)
2005 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)    2004 Clint Harvey (Commodore)
2003 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)    2002 Bruce Heinrich (Falcon)

The Australian Saloon Car Company (TASCCO) is a foundation member of the CAMS National Racing Championship, one of the core categories (together with Production Cars, Australian Formula 3 and Commodore Cup) in partnership with CAMS that now make up the Shannons Nationals.
Initially developed to overtake the popular HQ Holden category through the CAMS’ ‘White Paper’, the Saloon Car category was conceived utilising six cylinder Ford Falcon EA to EB, and Holden Commodore VN to VP models – and orchestrated to produce close racing and inter-marque rivalry.
Ultimately later-model AU Falcon and VT Commodore models became the mainstay of the category with the older models back filling at National level as well as providing the backbone of a strong state (TASSCO Challenge) series, particularly in West Australia, Victoria and Queensland.
Most recently, the category underwent a name change to the Australian Super 6 Touring Cars ahead of a model car that will start in 2015.