Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Sep 20, 2014


CAM McCONVILLE has returned to the winners list on his first race back in the seat today at the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals, at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit.

McConville’s victory and the crowning of Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia series winner Fraser Ross were the highlights of a massive day at Phillip Island for round 7 of the Nationals.

Porsche’s Motorsport Manager traded his position in race control for one in the seat of an Eggleston Motorsport Commodore in the Kumho V8 Touring Cars this weekend and was immediately rewarded with victory in the first race of the weekend.

He also ended the incredible streak of consecutive race victories established by Simpson – ending his run at nine in a row.

All eight categories contested at least one race today ahead of a massive 24-race schedule set to be streamed live on the internet tomorrow via Nationals TV.

McConville said he didn’t expect results to flow as quickly as they have so far this weekend.

“I didn’t expect it and I knew Ryan (Simpson) would be very quick and a big challenge,” McConville said.

“I was conscious of not getting in the way of the guys fighting for the title. The Eggleston Motorsport Commodore hooked up on about lap four or five when the front gripped up and it was all coming back to me.

“I made some bar changes that I remembered making back in the VZ days in V8 Supercars and they worked. It’s a big credit to Ben Eggleston and Rachael Wagg for letting me have a steer.”

The multiple Bathurst 1000 podium finisher said he was hopeful the V8 Touring Cars category would continue to flourish with the Shannons Nationals.

“I hope for the categories sake they can get more cars out, because it’s a great series for guys who want to move on to Development Series or V8 Supercars,” he said.

“If you can do 33s or 34s in one of these things around here you can drive anything.”

McConville’s victory came one race after Fraser Ross sealed his maiden Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge presented by Pirelli series title on Saturday afternoon.

Starting from pole, Matt Campbell dominated today’s GT3 Cup opener after passing John Goodacre for the lead on lap three. From there, the 19-year-old driver from Warwick gapped the field, setting a new lap record en-route to a commanding victory.

The interest switched to the battle for fourth between Goodacre, Jon McCorkindale and Ross with the trio ultimately finishing in that order; the fourth place finish more than enough for Ross to secure the title.

Lap records fell in several key categories today with both winners in the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series and Dial Before you Dig Australian Super Six Touring Car Series breaking existing benchmarks en route to winning their respective races.

Gavin Ross battled with fellow Holden driver Travis Lindorff to take the Super Six opener in style, ultimately winning comfortably and shaving a full 0.5s off the existing class record at the circuit.

Commodore’s dominated the positions in today’s eight-lap sprint race with Wayne King third, Jason Leoncini fourth and double champion Simon Tabinor fifth on his return to the category. Another former champion, Shawn Jaimeson, was sixth ahead of the first Ford home – seventh placed Rick Gill.

Darren Hossack stopped a run of Tony Ricciardello victories in the Kerrick Sports Sedan series, dominating their opening sprint race and also adding his name into the lap record books at Phillip Island.

Hossack’s thundering Chevrolet-powered Audi A4 beat home Tony Ricciardello and Stephen Tamasi in today’s encounter – the first of three this weekend.

Birthday boy Adam Proctor (Stohr) beat home West-driving rivals Aaron Steer and Roger I’Anson in today’s Australian Sports Racer Series opener, while Simon Hodge dominated proceedings in the Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship to extend his lead in the Gold Star standings.

Click here for a full report about today’s Formula 3 Australian Drivers championship race.

Neale Muston’s Radical Australia Cup title chances received a setback in qualifying today, the defending series winner heavily crashing his No. 1 SR8 entry at Lukey heights, ruling him out of the opening 45-minute enduro.

Tim Berryman was the main beneficiary, taking advantage of his key rivals’ misfortune by sweeping to a commanding victory ahead of Chris Medland and SR3 class winner, Oliver Smith.

The first race of the Rockpress Australian Superkart Championship was halted after a collision between Steve Myberg (Anderson-BRC) and Tony Lappas (Wizzer Engines/Superkarts Evolution SKE-BRC). With only two laps completed the race was declared a non-race with no points awarded.

The Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals will complete Round 7 of the series tomorrow, with all the action set to be streamed live via Nationals TV at