Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Sep 21, 2014


THE SHANNONS Australian Motor Racing Nationals will embrace consistency and stability in 2015 following the release of a nine-round calendar that follows the format of this year’s schedule closely.

Australia’s home for national-level motorsport competition, the Shannons Nationals will again tackle nine rounds in four states next year with only minor changes planned for next season.

The year will again commence in Melbourne during the height of the state’s biggest month of motorsport that includes the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix and the Phillip Island historic meeting.

The series will again visit Mallala in April before heading to the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit in May, with twilight / night racing again expected to be part of the Mallala Saturday evening schedule.

The Philip Island round will include the second running of the Australian GT 101 enduro and the third Great Southern 4 Hour Australian Manufacturers Championship – now a marquee race in the production-based series’ calendar.

Winton retains its now traditional mid-June slot prior to the Shannons Nationals returning to Sydney Motorsport Park in early July.

Queensland Raceway’s round will again follow one week after the V8 Supercars giving local fans a double dose of national motorsport action on consecutive weekends.

Early plans have been confirmed to return the popular ‘Fight in the Night’ format to Queensland Raceway, with at least the AMChamp field set to run under lights again.

Subsequent visits to Phillip Island (September) and Wakefield Park (October) will lead the series to a November finale’ at Sydney Motorsport Park for the second time in two years.

The final round in 2015 will be held two weeks later than this year to better serve teams working through the busy month of motorsport in October.

November’s Sydney Motorsport Park round will also host the Australian 4 Hour AMChamp enduro for the first time, the series and event promoters electing to end the AMChamp year with a major endurance race, rather than running it in close proximity to other long-distance races earlier in the season.

A full breakdown of categories competing at each round will be confirmed later this year.

ROB CURKPATRICK – Series Director, Shannons Nationals

“We are very pleased with our 2015 schedule that offers our competitors and categories stability with dates and locations and allows them to lock in travel plans early for next year.

“We have a great working relationship with all of the circuits where the Shannons Nationals competes and continue to work with them all to promote and grow each Event.

“There is a great willingness from everyone involved to continue to build our individual events and date equity is key to that.

“In some instances we have had dates locked in with circuits for six months and it has been a challenge to avoid significant clashes. We have worked hard to make sure that any conflicts with other Events will not adversely affect categories, volunteer officials or the promoters’ local market.

“The two rounds early in the season that clash with other major events, are in different states and were just unavoidable given the busy schedule most circuits have these days.

“We’re very comfortable with our product for next year and offering our competitors, stakeholders and competing categories the best value national series around.”


  1. Sandown Raceway (VIC) March 27-29
  2. Mallala Motorsport Park (SA) April 17-19
  3. Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit (VIC) May 22-24
  4. Winton Motor Raceway (VIC) June 12-14
  5. Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) July 3-5
  6. Queensland Raceway (QLD) August 7-9
  7. Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit (VIC) September 18-20
  8. Wakefield Park (NSW) October 16-19
  9. Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) November 13-15


Australian 3 Hour Classic (AMChamp) – Sandown, March 29
Clem Smith Cup (Kerrick Sports Sedans) – Mallala, April 19
Australian 101 (Australian GT) – Phillip Island, May 23
Great Southern 4 Hour (AMChamp) – Phillip Island, May 24
Dial Before You Dig Classic (Super6 Touring Cars) – Winton, June 14
Fight in the Night (AMChamp) – Queensland Raceway, August 9
Australian 4 Hour (AMChamp) – Sydney Motorsport Park, November 15