Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Oct 24, 2014


The Australian Sports Racer Series has announced a new championship structure, effective from 2015, which will see the introduction of divisional racing for the category.

From 2015, a SR2 Championship will be introduced, allowing more of the field to compete for race day honours whilst also still being in the running for the ‘outright’ SR1 Championship.

All drivers will be seeded according to their performances at previous national rounds and/or their domestic meetings, while racers for individual events will be seeded on their merits. SR2 points will be awarded as per the 2015 Series Sporting Regulations, and SR2 drivers who qualify more than twice in the top three or finish a race more than twice in the top three during a season will be reclassified to be eligible only for the SR1 championship.

Category Manager for the Australian Sports Racer Series Liam Curkpatrick said the change was all about bringing more accolades to the competitive Series in what will be its second year with the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals.

“In 2014 we successfully debuted with the Shannons Nationals on the national stage and we are excited that we will do so again in 2015,” said Curkpatrick.

“As part of our efforts to continuously improve the category, in 2015 we will see the introduction of the SR2 Championship, which will allow more racers in the mid to rear pack to compete for trophies on race day and still be in the running for outright honours at the end of the season.

“We are also pleased to announce our calendar for next year, which will see us visit Queensland Raceway in August instead of Wakefield Park, while retaining all other 2014 rounds.

“With the end of our 2014 season held only recently, it has been a great year and we are looking forward to taking this Series forward in the years to come.”

The 2015 Sporting Regulations are currently being finalised and will be available for competitors shortly.

In 2015, the Australian Sports Racer Series will take in five rounds:

·         Round One – Mallala Motorsport Park – 17-19 April, 2015
·         Round Two – Winton Motor Raceway – 12-14 June, 2015
·         Round Three – Queensland Raceway – 7-9 August, 2015
·         Round Four – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit – 18-20 September, 2015
·         Round Five – Sydney Motorsport Park – 13-15 November, 2015

The Australian Sports Racer Series is an exciting national motorsport series providing something different amongst Australia’s crowded motorsport landscape.

Launched in 2010, the Series joined the popular Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals in 2014, successfully launching the Series onto the national stage.

With spiritual links to the hugely popular sports car racing scene of the 70s and 80s, these Le Mans prototype style sports cars offer scintillating performance, amazing dynamics and spectacularly close racing.

Designed to maximise aerodynamic performance while weighing just 400kgs, these racers are powered by high-tech production-based motorcycle engines which rev to 13,500 rpm. Capable of punching out lap times equal to the mighty V8 Supercars at many circuits around Australia, these rockets are sure to grab your attention, whether you are behind the wheel, or in the grandstand.

Combine this with extremely low running costs, and the Series is the perfect match for young guns, gentleman racers, and everyone in between!