Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jun 9, 2015


Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia presented by Pirelli will feature the first of its much anticipated Jim Richards Endurance Trophy races this weekend at Winton as the series' strong start to 2015 continues.

Twenty cars will line up for the first of three endurance rounds following its impressive opener at Sandown, where the series kicked off its season with 22 cars.

The regional Victorian round will see the return of competitive Sandown debutants Ryan Simpson and Geoff Emery, who will be aiming to beat front-running regulars Jon McCorkindale and John Goodacre - the latter placing second in each Winton race last year behind eventual champion and now Carrera Cup racer Fraser Ross. Emery and Goodacre last met on track only three weeks ago at the Carrera Cup Pro-Am, where the duo were two of seven GT3 Cup Challenge regular drivers to try their hand at the top-tier Porsche category.

Absent from the Pro-Am, outright points leader Simpson is looking forward to returning to long-distance racing.

“Winton is a track that I know pretty well and I’ve done some testing there so we’ll go there pretty confident that I have a quick car. It will be the first one hour race that I’ve done in this series so I’ll see how I go over a longer distance. I’ve done a little bit of endurance racing in the Australian Manufacturers Championship and I really enjoyed it; it brings a few more strategy elements into the race. Although it will be something new in the Porsche I’m really looking forward to it.”

The fight for Class B will receive a shake up with young guns Aaron Seton and Jaxon Evans keen to capitalise on the absence of class leader Nick Cresswell from the Winton round.

The endurance component of the event will be held on Saturday; the 30 lap endurance race will be followed by two 10 lap races on Sunday. The leading point scorer from the 30 lap Winton race and the subsequent endurance races at Sydney Motorsport Park and Queensland Raceway will be crowned the endurance champion.

After the opening round Simpson leads the Professional Class standings from McCorkindale and Dylan O’Keeffe; Emery leads the Elite Class points from Goodacre and Tim Miles and Cresswell tops the Class B points from Evans and Brian Finn.

Race Schedule
Saturday June 13, 2015

9:10am Practice (20 minutes)
12:00pm Qualifying (25 minutes)
4:10pm Race 1 (30 laps)

Sunday June 14, 2015

11:35am Race 2 (10 laps)
3:05pm Race 3 (10 laps)

Entry List – Round 2
#2 - Scott Taylor (Fleetplus) Elite Class
#3 - Jono Taylor (Orrcon Steel / Taylor Engineering) Professional Class
#4 - Tim Miles (Autobarn) Elite Class
#5 - David Ryan (Wrightlands Property Group) Elite Class
#8 - Dylan O'Keeffe (Dexion / Phoenix Lubricats / Allstart Equipment) Professional Class
#13 - Sam Shahin (htfu) Elite Class
#16 - John Karytinos (Kinpath Group) Elite Class
#21 - Shane Barwood (Melbourne Orthopaedic Group) Class B
#30 - Aaron Seton (Scott Taylor Motorsport) Class B
#33 - Simon Ellingham (Fastway Couriers) Professional Class
#48 - Geoff Emery (Emery Motorsport) Elite Class
#54 - James Abela (Horsley Park Gun Shop) Professional Class
#66 - John Goodacre (GAP Solutions) Elite Class
#69 - Jon McCorkindale (Dial Before You Dig) Professional Class
#72 - James Campbell (Power Street Racing) Class B
#81 - Michael Tsigeridis (Hunter French Real Estate) Class B
#82 - Brian Finn (Laser 3D/Force Acessories) Class B
#88 - Ryan Simpson (Sonic / Parramatta Smash Repairs) Professional Class
#91 - Jaxon Evans (McElrea Racing/N2C) Class B
#99 - Ross McGregor (Southern Star Windows) Elite Class