Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Oct 18, 2015


IN ONE OF the most remarkable national championship turnarounds in recent memory, Ricky Capo has stormed from 19 points behind to dramatically win the Australian Formula 3 Championship at Wakefield Park.

Capo stormed to victory in all four races this weekend through the result remains provisional following contact between Capo and title rival Jon Collins in race one on Saturday.

The incident – that saw the pair make contact in turn ten and Collins spin out of the race – is the subject of a stewards hearing to take place this evening in Goulburn and may yet change the final results for that race.

However it is possible that the force of his results on Sunday will ensure Capo has done enough to win the crown.

The first if two, 22-lap encounters on Sunday afternoon would set the scene for capo’s remarkable title run as he edged out Collins to win by 0.0183s in a breathtaking display of wheel to wheel racing.

Collins had led the majority of the 22-lap affair – that paid 20 points for a victory compared to 12 for races one and two – and had fended off attack after attack from his year-long rival throughout.

However lapped traffic on the final lap allowed Capo to close one last time and run around the outside of a defensive Collins into the turn ten hairpin on the final lap.

The pair ran side by side out of the corner and down the straight and, after nearly making contact crossed the line side by side with Capo in front – just.

Having grabbed a three-point title lead by virtue of that result, Capo then passed Collins mid-way through the 22-lap finale before pulling away to grab the City of Goulburn Cup trophy in style.

Had Collins won the finale’ he would have been champion – but it wasn’t to be.

The provisional results show Capo the champion with 280 points to Collins on 272.

“It’s an amazing feeling and I’m not sure I can believe we’re here,” Capo said on the podium.

“It’s crazy and it’s such a great result for my family, my dad Frank, Carol my mum, my sister and everyone involved who has supported us this season.

“The third race was incredible and I didn’t know I’d beaten him until my engineer told me over the radio.. I couldn’t see as we crossed the line.

“I tried to pass Jon in the final race once and he closed the door but I had another go and was able to get through. From there I put my head down and went for it to the finish.

“It’s just an amazing weekend and I can’t believe it.”

McDonald’s Gilmour Racing’s Collins ended the year with the most victories – 10 – yet just miss the title despite leading at some point in every race this weekend.

“It’s a bitter pill to swallow to lose the championship by the amount of points you lost in getting taken out,” Collins said.

“We have got to be proud of the efforts of this McDonald’s Gilmour Racing team this season. We had 10 wins, lots of pole positions and fastest laps and I’m really proud of what we have achieved.

“The team has done an amazing job. We did everything we could to win it but it wasn’t quite enough. In the end this weekend Ricky was just that little bit quicker.”

Trent Shirvington ultimately finished third in the City of Goulburn Trophy race after Roland Legge was penalised for passing under yellow’s at the start of a brief Safety Car period.

Dennie Rumble won the National Class and Shane Wilson the Kumho Cup.


THREE DRIVERS will battle for the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series title this November, a close weekend of racing at Wakefield Park setting up a winner-take-all finale’ between three of the series’ best.

Jack Perkins continued his recent domination of proceedings to sweep all three races, in the process setting a new Wakefield Park lap record (56.26s) during his race two run victory.

However it was the battles behind that set up the thrilling series finale’ with Thomas Randle and Steven Tamasi conspiring to put immense pressure on eight-time and defending champion, Tony Ricciardello.

Randle bounced back from his race one non-finish with a superb drive to third in race two, swapping positions with the famous Alfa twice before the multiple champion could pull away.

However Randle finished second in the third race to help close his points margin down with one round remaining.

A consistent weekend from Tamasi maintained the Holden Calibra driver’s consistent season and ensured he remains in the championship fight.

As such, Ricciardello (464 points) leads Tamasi by just 11 points with Randle just 23 points from the leader ahead of the final round, to be held at Sydney Motorsport Park on November 13-15.


GAVIN ROSS sealed back-to-back Dial before you dig Australian Super 6 Touring Car series crowns with a typically consistent performance across the Wakefield Park weekend.

Unable to quite match runaway leader Ben Grice for raw speed, Ross ran a conservative weekend and did exactly what he needed to do to secure the crown.

The Victorian driver becomes just the third driver in the series 15-year history to win back-to-back crowns, Bruce Heinrich achieving the feat twice (2002-03 and 2005-06-07) and Simon Tabinor once in 2012-2013.

Ben Grice’s incredible run of four straight round victories elevated him above Ashley Jarvis to second in the championship – a just reward for a remarkable mid-season turnaround in form after scoring minimal points in the opening two rounds.

Grice ended the season with twelve straight race and four consecutive round victories.

Jarvis finished third overall this season and first of the Ford Falcon runners.


HAVING claimed the Australian Formula Ford title in style on Saturday, Cameron Hill ended his championship campaign on a high at Wakefield Park – sweeping all three races and winning the round in another emphatic performance.

The Canberra driver led all the way in every race this weekend to take his streak to four round wins from six this year.

Christian Morina secured second in the championship for his Sonic Motor Racing Services team by finishing second overall at Wakefield, his teammate Thomas Maxwell finishing third.

Mitch Martin and Jason Ojeda completed the top five for the round overall.

Cameron Walters won all three races in the Formula Ford 1600 (Kent) class and won the class ahead of Daniel Houlihan and Bob Power to seal the class title.


RICK BATES dominated the penultimate round of the Australian Manufacturers Championship, leading lights-to-flag in Sunday’s 200km race to record a comfortable one-lap victory for the Pro-Duct team.

Bates led home the Grant / Iain Sherrin BMW and Beric Lynton in today’s race to seal the round result ahead of the BMW duo.

Mark Eddy finished fourth and on the same lap as the two BMW ahead in a promising debut for his brand new Audi TT.

Grant Phillips and Andrew Turpie finished sixth outright in the Pedders Suspension Toyota to win Class D, while Colin Osborne won Class C in his still-new Renault Megane.