Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jul 1, 2016


The opening day at Round 4 of the Shannons Nationals presented by Penrite kicked off in style, with competitors enjoying the sunshine at the Sydney Motorsport Park venue.

Former champions and young guns were the stand out in today's opening practice, with Australian Formula 3 Premier Series, CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship, Radical Australia Cup, Australian Production Car Series, Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge and Australian GT Trophy all hitting the Gardner GP circuit for their practice sessions.

Practice continues on Saturday for the Australian Production Car Series and Porsche GT3 Cup, with qualifying and races set to begin tomorrow morning.
Australian Formula 3 Premier Series

Two-time Australian Formula 3 champion Tim Macrow has set the fastest time out of the three practice sessions in the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series, with Queenslander Roland Legge seven-tenths of a second off of the current championship leader. 

Coming off the bat from breaking the outright lap record at Winton, Christopher Anthony was third fastest, ahead of National-class campaigner Cameron Shields in fourth. 

Team BRM's Trent Shirvington was fifth, ahead of Ricky Capo and Nathan Kumar. 

The Kumho class also returns for the round at Sydney, with Ross McAlpine leading the way ahead of Shane Wilson.

The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series returns tomorrow to the Sydney Motorsport Park circuit for qualifying.
CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship

Fresh from the European racing scene, Victorian Luis Leeds has set the fastest time in today's combined practice sessions in the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship.

The Red Bull junior driver was quickest in two of today's sessions, with Harry Hayek who has also come back from a stint in Europe topping the other session. 

Leeds set the fastest time of the day with a 1:31.5514, with Hayek second in the combined lap times. 

Simon Fallon from DREAM Motorsport was third quickest, ahead of Will Brown, Nick Rowe and an impressive Tyler Everingham. 

Josh Conroy was seventh, ahead of Brenton Grove and leading-rookie Josh Denton. 

Current championship leader Jordan Love had a challenging day, rounding out the top ten. 

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship returns tomorrow morning for qualifying.
Radical Australia Cup

Experienced racer James Winslow has returned to the Radical Australia Cup scene for the first time this year, topping Qualifying 1 to start from pole in tomorrow's first race.

Current championship leader Peter Paddon qualified second for tomorrow's first 50-minute race, after topping both of today's practice sessions. 

Rowan Ross and Kim Burke qualified third and fourth respectively, rounding out the two front rows for Race 1. 

In Qualifying 2, Paddon set the fastest time and will start the second race from pole position. 

Ross was second, with Oliver Smith and Burke to start from the second row of the grid.

The Radical Australia Cup will head out for their first 50-minute race tomorrow, before their final race for the round later in the day.
Australian Production Car Series

After taking out the opening round at Phillip Island, Luke Searle has posted the fastest time in the combined Australian Production Car Series practice sessions. 

The New South Wales-based driver was quickest in the first practice session, with Beric Lynton pushing the BMW M1 to post the fastest times in the second and third sessions in Class A. 

Fatest for Class B today was Grant Sherrin, while Francois Jouy topped the times for Class C in his Megane.

In Class D Andrew Turpie from Pedders Racing led the way, with Mitch Naylor posting the fastest time in Class E in the Suzuki Swift he shares with his brother.

The Australian Production Car Series returns tomorrow morning for a warm up, before their 250km race later in the day.
Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge

The Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge returns after their last round at Winton Motor Raceway, with Australian-based Kiwi racers Jaxon Evans and Tim Miles topping their respective classes in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge.

Evans' best lap of 1:30.9875 was a mere .04s ahead of Professional class points leader Hamish Hardeman, and quicker than the current race lap record of 1:31.6017, posted by Ryan Simpson last season. 

Series rookie Jake Klarich was third, ahead of Elite class leader Miles.

Miles was fastest in the Elite class, ahead of South Australian Sam Shahin, Anthony Gilbertson, Jim Campbell, John Morriss, Brian Finn, Ross McGregor, David Ryan, Shane Barwood and Tony Martin.  

This event is also the 50th round for the series, and Porsche are awarding both the Professional and Elite class round winners the use of a Porsche sports car for the weekend. 

The Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge will return on track tomorrow for qualifying and their first race.
Australian GT Trophy

Backing up from their last round at Winton, the Australian GT Trophy Series returned to the Shannons Nationals calendar with practice today. 

Greg Taylor led the way in the Trophy class, posting the fastest time in today's single session. 

Mathew Turnbull was second in his Lamborghini, ahead of the MARC entry of Jake Camilleri.

Camilleri leads the way in the MARC class, ahead of Keith Kassulke and Morgan Haber. 

In the Challenge class, Scott Hookey from Exotic Track Days was fastest ahead of Brendan Cook. 

The Australian GT Trophy Series returns tomorrow to the circuit for another practice session and their qualifying for racing on Sunday.