Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jul 2, 2016



Tim Macrow has smoked the Sydney Motorsport Park Formula 3 qualifying record to grab the All Properties Group Pole award this morning.

Macrow's stunning 1:21.8025 was the first ever lap under the 1m22s barrier in Formula 3's history at the Sydney venue, was his fourth straight APG Pole Award this year and the 26th of his remarkable career. 

Chris Anthony will start second in his McDonald's Gilmour Racing Dallara, his 1m22.24s lap just 0.1s behind John Magro's existing pole record. 

Ricky Capo will start third in his Dallara, just edging out Trent Shirvington in the battle for the second row late in the session. Shirvington will line his Quicksilver Team BRM Mygale up fourth for race one: 0.2s behind Capo. 

Cameron Shields was fifth - only 0.0005s behind Shirvington - with Nathan Kumar sixth. 

Shane Wilson edged Ross McApline in the battle for the Kumho Cup while Roland Legge will start last after his R-Tek Dallara struck issues on his out lap. 

With the car stranded at turn two, he was towed back to the pits and took no further part in the session while the team tried to identify the issue - later confirmed to be a gearbox fault.

Race one commences at 12:35 local time today.