Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jul 2, 2016



Day 2 of the Shannons Nationals presented by Penrite was action-packed, with the categories beginning their respective races at the fourth round of the Nationals.

Today featured two 50-minute Radical Australia Cup races and the 250km Australian Production Car Series endurance race.

As well as endurance racing, the Nationals was treated with races from the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series, CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship and Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge. 

Australian GT Trophy Series qualified for their final races tomorrow, with categories returning tomorrow for their final day of racing.


Australian Formula 3 Premier Series

Victorian Tim Macrow has turned his record-breaking qualifying lap into a win, taking out the opening race in the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series. 

The race got off to an exciting start, but the stalled car of Shane Wilson on the main straight saw the Safety Car called. 

The restart saw Macrow hold his lead and eventually led the way to the finish, with the McDonald's entry of Christopher Anthony finishing second. 

Roland Legge was third ahead of Ricky Capo, who made his return to the series this round. 

In the National class Cameron Shields continued his strong championship-leading form, holding off R-Tek Motorsport's Nathan Kumar for the lead.

The Kumho Cup returns for the round at Sydney Motorsport Park, with Ross McAlpine leading the way.

The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series returns tomorrow for their final two races.

CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship

'Karratha Kid' Nick Rowe has taken the first win of the round, holding off his European rivals to claim his first win of the season in the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship.

Rowe led the way after from starting on pole position, with Harry Hayek finishing second and Red Bull junior driver Luis Leeds third. 

After finishing in fourth position, Will Brown also took over the championship lead, taking charge by a single point. 

AGI Sport's Jack Smith finished fifth, ahead of Josh Conroy, Tyler Everingham, Simon Fallon and Josh Denton.

Jordan Love finished tenth, sending him to second place in the overall championship.

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship returns to Sydney Motorsport Park tomorrow for the final two races.

Radical Australia Cup

Oliver Smith and Greg Smith are the big winners of today, taking out the third round of the Radical Australia Cup. 

The Smiths raced to victory lane in the final race of the round, giving them enough points to take the overall win. 

Axiom Wealth's Simon Haggarty finished second, tied on points with New South Wale's David Crampton and followed by Tony Haggarty in fourth. 

After starting from pole in Race 1, Michael Whiting and James Winslow finished sixth in both races to come home fifth for the round. 

Paddon had an unfortunate day, after taking out the first race win and starting from pole for Race 2, the First Focus driver failed to finish the final race, sending him to sixth for the third round.

The championship now sees Oliver Smith take the lead on 193 points, ahead of Paddon on 193 with just one round remaining.

The Radical Australia Cup's final round will see the category go to New Zealand in November for their final round of the series.

Australian Production Car Series

Tim Leahey and Beric Lynton have taken victory in Race 1 at Sydney Motorsport Park after battling with fellow Class A entrants Luke Searle/Paul Morris. 

The result went down to the wire, with the BMW eventually taking out the victory despite mechanical issues earlier in the weekend. 

Third outright and taking the victory for Class B were Grant and Iain Sherrin, with Grant having led the field during the early stages of the race. 

Rounding out the top five were the entries of Mark Eddy and Dean Fiore, despite having no windscreen and storming from the rear of the grid.

Sixth and last to finish on the lead lap was the Class A entry of Rick Bates/Bob Pearson, finishing ahead of Class I's Kyle Alford/Aaron Seton.  

Mark Griffith and Rod Salmon were eighth, with Class C victory and ninth outright was the entry of Doug Westwood/Chad Parrish. 

Colin Osborne and Hadrian Morrall rounded out the top ten.

Class D victory went to the father-and-daughter outfit of Carly and Barry Black, with Class E going to Liam Thompson and Ellexandra Best from Lauren Gray Motorsport.

The 250km race was cut short due to the falling darkness of the Sydney circuit. 

The Australian Production Car Series returns tomorrow for the final 250km race.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge 

Current championship leader Hamish Hardeman has continued his strong form in the 2016 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge, taking the first win of the round in the opening race.

The Sonic Motor Racing Services driver led the way from pole-sitter Jaxon Evans and series rookie Jake Klarich in a nine-lap dash to the finish. 

David Ryan was fourth outright and first in the Elite class, ahead of Queenslander Tim Miles and Sam Shahin. 

This event is also the 50th round for the series, and Porsche are awarding both the Professional and Elite class round winners the use of a Porsche sports car for the weekend. 

The Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge will return on track tomorrow for their final two races. 

Australian GT Trophy Series

The Australian GT Trophy Series hit the Sydney Motorsport Park circuit today for their final practice and qualifying sessions, with current series leader Greg Taylor taking pole position for tomorrow's opening race. 

Taylor was first overall, followed by the Lamborghini Gallardo of Mathew Turnbull. 

Jack Smith who is doing double duties this weekend was first in the Marc class and third outright, leading the way from the MARC Mazda V8 of Jake Camilleri and the driver combination of Morgan Haber and Tony Longhurst. 

In the Challenge class Richard Gartner/Adrian Flack led the way in their Porsche GT3 Cup car, ahead of Scott Hookey. 

The Australian GT Trophy Series has two 50-minutes races tomorrow.