Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jul 3, 2016



Round 4 of the Shannons Nationals presented by Penrite has come to a close, with six categories having competed across the weekend.

Highlights of today included the Jim Richards Endurance Trophy race in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge, as well as the two 50-minute Australian GT Trophy races and the 250km Australian Production Car Series race to close the event.

The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series and CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship completed their two sprint races.

The Nationals now heads to Queensland for Round 5 in three weeks time.


Australian Formula 3 Premier Series

Tim Macrow and Christopher Anthony shared race wins today, with Macrow extending his lead taking out the round win in the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series.

Macrow claimed his 41st victory in Australian Formula 3, while Anthony won his first race of the season.

Race 1 was full of incidents, with Cameron Shields breaking his driveshaft on the opening lap and Roland Legge putting his car into the wall.

Despite the mechanical faults, Shields continued his domination in the National class taking out the win.

The Kumho Cup also returned for the fourth round of the series, with Ross McAlpine taking top honours.

The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series returns to the Shannons Nationals in Queensland Raceway for their fifth round of the series on 31-29 July.


CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4

'Nick Rowe claimed his first round win of the season during Round 3 of the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship, elevating the 'Karratha Kid' to second in the standings.

The 18-year-old had strong battles all weekend, with his consistency in all three races handing him the win for the round.

Will Brown finished second for the round, which has now boosted his championship campaign taking the lead halfway through the season.

After racing in Europe, Harry Hayek has returned to Australia and has finished a solid third place, ahead of Red Bull's junior protege Luis Leeds in fourth.

DREAM Motorsport's Simon Fallon and Josh Conroy finished fifth and sixth respectively, with Tyler Everingham, Brenton Grove and Jordan Love rounding out the top ten.

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship now heads to Queensland Raceway for the fourth round of their championship, on 22-24 July.


Australian Production Car Series

As the sun set on Sydney Motorsport Park today, Luke Searle took victory in this afternoon's 250km Tyreright Australian Production Car Series race in the BMW he shares with Paul Morris.

The pair crossed the line ahead of Race 1 winners and fellow Class A entrants Tim Leahey and Beric Lynton, allowing them to take their second consecutive outright round victory and Class A.

Bob Pearson and Rick Bates took third outright and for Class A, after leading a large portion in the early stages.

Class I winner and fourth outright was Aaron Seton, in the Donut King BMW he shared with Kyle Alford across the weekend.

Grant Sherrin battled home in fifth outright and also scored the Class B race victory, despite running into difficulties in the final 15 laps, when he was third on the road.

Chad Parrish and Doug Westwood took out the Class C race and round win today, ahead of the Network Clothing Renault Megane of Francois Jouy and Franck Donniaux, who had earlier led the class.

George Karadimas and Geoff Russell crossed the line third in their Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo Sprint, despite suffering an early puncture.

The Class D race win went to Grant Phillips and Andrew Turpie, while Carly and Barry Black took the round win after their win yesterday and second place today.

Class E saw the Naylor Racing Suzuki Swift driven by brother Mitch and Leigh Naylor take the win, but it was Liam Thompson and Ellexandra Best who took the class round victory.

The Australian Production Car Series now travels to Queensland Raceway for their third round on 29-31 July.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge

Sonic Motor Racing Services' Hamish Hardeman has extended his championship lead, taking the round win for the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge's 50th round.

Hardeman finished just three points ahead of Jaxon Evans to take the round win, after the pair battled all weekend.

Evans was also the winner of a chaotic Jim Richards Endurance Trophy Race 2, and showed strong pace from the start of the weekend with his pole position.

Queenslander Jake Klarich finished third, with Elite class winner Tim Miles right behind Klarich in fourth.

South Australian Sam Shahin was fifth overall, ahead of David Ryan, Anthony Gilbertson, John Morriss and Jim Campbell.

Shane Barwood was the best of the Class B runners for the weekend, taking a clean sweep of race wins in the class, though Neville Stewart improved as the round continued, ultimately taking the fastest lap in Class B in the final race.

The strong 14-car field now heads to Queensland Raceway for the fifth round of their series on 31-29 July.

Australian GT Trophy Series

The Australian GT Trophy Series hit the Sydney Motorsport Park circuit today for their two 50-minute races, with Greg Taylor extending his series lead with two victories.

Taylor led the way from pole position in both races, with Porsche GT3 Cup car of Stephen Grove finishing second for the round with a second and third place finish in the GT Trophy class.

Rob Smith finished second in Race 2, giving him enough points to round out the podium with third.

In the MARC class Jack Smith went from strength-to-strength, turning his pole position into two class wins.

Jake Camilleri was second, just edging Ryan McLeod with the points he received from qualifying.

In the Challenge class Richard Gartner/Adrian Flack led the way in their Porsche GT3 Cup car taking both race wins, ahead of Scott Hookey in the Exotic Track Days Ferrari.

The Australian GT Trophy Series now heads to the next Shannons Nationals round at Queensland Raceway for their fourth round.


Next round

The Shannons Nationals presented by Penrite will now head further north of Australia for Round 5 at Queensland Raceway on 29-31 July.

The fifth round of the Nationals will feature a bumper program, with seven categories including:

• Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia

• Australian Production Car Series

• Australian GT Trophy Series

• Australian Formula 3 Premier Series

• Australian Formula Ford Series

• Australian Sports Racer Series

• Australian Sports Sedan Series