Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Aug 1, 2016



Pole position, a race win and MARC Class round victory proved enough for Jake Camilleri to take out the MARC Class CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series title at Queensland Raceway.

With a total of 768-points, Camilleri holds an unassailable 218-point advantage with just one round remaining in the Series.

“It’s fantastic,” enthused Camilleri. “It’s been a great effort from the whole team all season, and it’s nice to be able to get it done at Queensland Raceway.”

It was a near perfect weekend for Camilleri, who kicked things off with pole position on Saturday afternoon, by the narrow margin of 0.07s over team-mate Jack Smith, followed by victory Race 1.

Camilleri led the Race 2 with the fast starting Morgan Haber and Smith running nose to tail in the opening laps.

The electric pace at the front was too much for Haber as the leading pair edged clear before Camilleri ran wide and opened the door for Smith to take the lead.

Once out front, Smith worked hard to build an advantage to lead home a MARC Cars Australia 1-2-3 with Keith Kassulke rising through the field to claim a strong third at the flag.

“The car felt good,” Smith beamed. “I got in a good rhythm and the lap time just came to me.”

Rob Smith won the Trophy class weekend, ensuring he’ll head into the final race of the series leading that competition from fellow Audi R8 LMS racer Greg Taylor.

In the Southern Star Developments entry, Smith opened his account with victory in Race 1 before shadowing Travers Beynon to the flag in Race 2, amassing 192-points in the process to take a 40-point advantage into Phillip Island.

Scott Hookey clean-swept the Challenge class to put himself in a commanding position at the head of the table.

With countless laps under his belt around Queensland Raceway, the Exotic Track Days Ferrari 458 Challenge was absorbed in an intense weekend of racing as he claimed maximum points in class.

Camilleri’s performance made him just the second multiple race winner in Australian GT Trophy Series, while Jack Smith became the fourth different race winner in 2016.