Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Aug 1, 2016



The Australian Production Cars have followed up last night’s Fight in the Night with an action-packed battle this afternoon at Queensland Raceway.

The Sherrin Racing team used the 250km race for redemption following their pit lane dramas which cost them a potential race win last night, taking out the outright and Class B victory in the #1 Sherrin Racing BMW135i from last night’s winners Tim Leahy and Beric Lynton (#23 Bruce Lynton Prestige Automotive BMW1M – Class A winners). It was the first ever outright race win for the Class B entry, which took out the outright and Class B championship last year.

Third on the road and second for Class A were Aaron Seton and Tony Alford in the Donut King BMW1M, who after a late safety car restart had earlier been challenging for second and first in class. Also having been in the battle for the lead was the Luke Searle/Paul Morris #62 Roadchill Freight Express BMW M135i but a late pit stop under the final safety car saw them lose touch with the leaders. The #33 Pro-Duct Mitsubishi Evo of Rick Bates and Bob Pearson had also been in the mix earlier on, with Bates leading the early stages, however a lengthy stop for brake pads saw them drop a number of laps behind in the middle of the race.

Taking the victory for Class C was the #88 Gosford European Car Services/Network Clothing Renault Megane of Francois Jouy and Franck Donniaux. Their class victory from 7th outright came after a fraught and contact-heavy class battle across the majority of the race between the #88, the #13 Osborne Motorsport Renault Megane and the #34 AAW/Karadimas Motorsport Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo. The Karadimas entry had held a hard-fought lead for the class for the majority of the race up until 20 laps to go, where they found themselves buried in the sand trap at turn 3.

In Class D, the #97 Gosford European Car Services/The Web Design Renault Clio of Barry and Carly Black took out a second class victory for the weekend from 13th on the road, ahead of the Pedders/Motorsport Training Australia Toyota 86 which had undergone all-night repairs after their issues in last night’s race end.

The Naylor brothers (Mitch and Leigh) who would take the Class E victory, crossing the line 15th outright after plenty of battles across the race with the #15 Lauren Gray Motorsport Toyota Echo of Liam Thompson and Ellexandra Best and the #72 Jarvis Racing Suzuki Swift.

For Class I, Kyle Alford and Carey McMahon took a second class win in the Donut King Mitsubishi Mirage for the weekend. Previously, they had swapped positions throughout the race with the #11 Lighthouse Electrical/Jarvis Pluming Ford Falcon AU (Ashley and Paul Jarvis).

The race saw just two safety cars, with both occurring late in the race. The first was called with just 20 laps to go for a stranded #6 The Car Mine Suzuki Swift with clutch issues on turn six. It was on the restart that Iain Sherrin would take the lead in the Sherrin Racing BMW135i from Tim Leahy in the #23, with him holding it for less than a lap before another safety car would be called for the #34 Ford Falcon which had become buried in the sand trap – setting up a 12 lap sprint to the finish.

The Australian Production Cars will now turn their attention to the final round of 2016, to be held at Sydney Motorsport Park across November 13-15.