Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Sep 5, 2016



The battle of two young racers will come to a head this weekend as the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia presented by Pirelli Series embarks on its 2016 season finale at Phillip Island.

Hamish Hardeman and Jaxon Evans have battled closely throuhout the season, claiming five and seven respective wins a piece.

Hardeman has finished inside the top three in every race this year, while Evans sustained a costly DNF at Winton.

Evans although has momentum on his side, claiming pole and three race wins at the penultimate round at Queensland Raceway.

"I took as many points as I could out of Hamish's championship lead at Queensland Raceway," Evans said.

"I'll plan to do the same at Phillip Island - I really enjoy the track so it will be interesting to see how it all unfolds at the season finale."

The Elite class battle also comes down to the final round, after heartache struck for Sam Shahin at Queensland when he was en-route to his first round and race win, but a throttle cable snapped in the dying stages of the race.

This handed Tim Miles a handy lead in the class, sitting 43 points ahead of Shahin.

This weekend will also see the inclusion of one of the series' founders, Sven Burchartz.

Anthony Gilbertson and Brian Finn will fight for third in the Elite class, while Michael Stillwell and Mike Vati return to the series after stints earlier in the season.

Shane Barwood looks set to claim his maiden Class B crown this weekend, with the Melbourne racer having a consistent year including his first round win at Sydney.

The Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia presented by Pirelli will be on track for opening practice on Friday.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge presented by Pirelli - entry list

1. #4 Tim Miles (Elite Class) CSF Radiators / Miles Advisory Partners
2. #6 Michael Stillwell (Elite Class) Logicar Australia
3. #9 Tony Martin (Elite Class) The Triffid Bar Venue
4. #10 Hamish Hardeman (Professional Class) Sonic Motor Racing Services/arris property group
5. #12 Brendan Cook (Class B) OLOF Family & Cosmetic Dental Spa
6. #13 Sam Shahin (Elite Class) HTFU
7. #17 Michael Vati (Elite Class) Zoo York
8. #19 Anthony Gilbertson (Elite Class) Motiv8 Racing/Hallmark Homes
9. #21 Shane Barwood (Class B) Melbourne Orthopaedic Group
10. #81 Michael Tsigeridis (Class B) Hunter French Real Estate
11. #82 Brian Finn (Elite Class) Laser 3D/Force Accessories
12. #90 Sven Burchartz (Elite Class) Kalus Kenny Intelex Lawyers
13. #91 Jaxon Evans (Professional Class) Simulate-It/Willship
14. #95 Jake Klarich (Professional Class) Super Rooster
15. #99 Ross McGregor (Elite Class) Southern Star Windows