Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Sep 9, 2016



On the opening day of the penultimate round of the Shannons Nationals presented by Penrite, the Phillip Island weather produced trying conditions for all of our competitors.

Over 130 drivers from eight different national series hit the track, in readiness for a big weekend of racing.

Categories will begin their qualifying and racing tomorrow.

Australian Sports Racer Series

The Australian Sports Racer Series has kicked off its penultimate round for 2016, with a strong field of 12 recording their lap times on the opening day.

Combined practice saw South Australian Aaron Steer lead the way, ahead of fellow West racer Roger I'Anson.

Third fastest out of today's three practice sessions was John Morriss, who leads the charge in the Radical class.

F1000 racer Josh Cranston was fourth, ahead of Mark Laucke, Peter Johnston, John-Paul Drake, Philip Hughes, David Crampton and Terry Peovitis.

The Sports Racer Series returns to Phillip Island tomorrow for their Qualifying and opening race.

Superkarts Australia National Series

Australian title holder Russell Jamieson has posted the fastest time in today's practice in the Superkarts Australia National Series.

Jamieson was quickest in the 250cc International, ahead of Kristian Stebbing and Jason Smith.

Fourth outright and fastest in the 250cc National class was Jordan Ford, with Anton Stevens, John Pellicano, Aaron Cogger, Ilya Harpas, Michael Nicholas and Raff Pironti.

Brad Stebbing was fastest in the 125 Gearbox, ahead of Mark Robin and Timothy Philp.

The 24 Superkart field will return tomorrow to the Phillip Island circuit for their Qualifying and opening race for the round.

Kerrick Sports Sedans Series

The Kerrick Sports Sedans Series have returned to the Island for their penultimate round of the series, and the battle is expected to go down to the wire at this weekend's round.

Jack Perkins led the way in today's combined practice, with his John Gourlay Audi A4 setting a quickest lap of 1:28.4658.

Current series leader and nine-time champion Tony Ricciardello was second in the wet and dry conditions, with Daniel Tamasi third in front of his son Steven Tamasi.

Queenslander Geoff Taunton was fifth, ahead of the Monaro of Colin Smith, Stuart Inwood, Bob McLoghlin and Michael Robinson.

The Kerrick Sports Sedans will return to the track tomorrow for their two qualifying sessions and their first race.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge presented by Pirelli

The final round of the 2016 season of the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge has approached, and the title is closer than ever for the title lead.

In today's qualifying session, Hamish Hardeman pipped Jaxon Evans on the final lap by grabbing pole position for tomorrow's racing.

Hardeman currently leads Evans by 41 points, with the racing expected to go down to the wire in tomorrow's three final races for the season.

Jake Klarich was third fastest, and will start alongside Anthony Gilbertson.

Sam Shahin was fifth, ahead of Tim Miles, Brian Finn, Ross McGregor and Sven Burchartz.

The Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge will head into tomorrow's round with the series on their mind, as the category has their three final races for the year.

Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car Series

Brad Jones Racing's Joshua Smith has led the way in today's Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car's combined practice, as the series returns to the Nationals for the second time in 2016.

Smith set his fastest lap in the second practice session, putting down a time of 1:35.0222 ahead of series' debutant Garry Jacobson.

Queenslander Tyler Greenbury was third, ahead of current series leader Taz Douglas.

Jack Sipp was fifth, ahead of Michael Anderson, Chris Smerdon, Jim Pollicina, Steve Briffa and Troy Stapleton.

The Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car Series returns to the Phillip Island circuit tomorrow for their qualifying and opening race.

Australian Formula 3 Premier Series

The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series returns to the Island for their second time in 2016, with Roland Legge leading the way in today's combined practice.

Legge, continuing on his strong form from Queensland set a time of 1:32.5576, ahead of Christopher Anthony and two-time champion Tim Macrow.

Cameron Shields who is making his debut in the Premier class this weekend was fourth, ahead of Nathan Kumar, Shane Wilson, Roman Krummins and Ross McAlpine.

Formula 3 will be on track again tomorrow for their qualifying and opening race.

Australian Touring Car Masters Series

The Australian Touring Car Masters has made its official return to the Nationals calendar, and in trying conditions has seen two different drivers take the fastest times of the day.

In today's opening practice it was the A9X Torana of Jason Gomersall who led the way from John Bowe and Andrew Fisher, ahead of Tony Karanfilovski and Jim Richards.

The second practice session of the day saw Victorian Brett Youlden quickest on the time sheets in a wet session, ahead of Eddie Abelnica, Steve Johnson, Andrew Fisher and John Bowe.

Gomersall's fastest dry practice time was a 1:42.28, less than a second behind the current Touring Car Master lap record previously set by Bowe in 2015.

The Touring Car Masters returns to the Phillip Island circuit tomorrow for their qualifying and first race of the round.

Australian GT Trophy Series presented by Pirelli

Greg Taylor has come back and set the fastest time in today's opening Australian GT Trophy practice, after missing the last round at Queensland Raceway.

Richard Gartner was second overall and led the way in the Challenge class.

Jack Smith was quickest in the MARC class, ahead of Jason Busk.

Current series leader Rob Smith was sixth in the order, ahead of Keith Kassulke, John Goodacre, Travis Beynon and Scott Hookey.

The Australian GT Trophy Series will head out for another practice session tomorrow morning before their 25-minute qualifying.