Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Sep 11, 2016



The sixth round of the Shannons Nationals presented by Penrite has been done and dusted at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit.

Over 130 competitors raced over three days of racing, with eight categories competing across the round.

Australian GT Trophy Series presented by Pirelli

The final round of the first-ever season of the Australian GT Trophy Series was quite eventful and saw Greg Taylor take the round win.

The first race was red-flagged and cut short from its original 50 minutes, with category officials later calling the race a non-event.

Race 2 went to back to qualifying for the starting position, seeing Taylor start from pole and crossing the line in first.

Debutant to the series Kane Rose battled Taylor for the lead, and had an impressive drive finishing second for the round.

Rob Smith was the eventual Trophy class champion, after finishing third in the final race, securing the title for 2016.

Smith finished third for the round, with Mathew Turbull fourth ahead of Travers Beynon.

In the MARC class Jake Camilleri was able to get his car repaired after Race 1's contact with Beynon to take the win, ahead of Jack Smith and John Goodacre.

GT Challenge saw the Porsche pair of Richard Gartner and Adrian Flack take the win for the round, but it was Scott Hookey that took out the Challenge title for 2016.

Kerrick Sports Sedans Series

Despite there being one more round to go in the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series, Tony Ricciardello has taken Sports Sedan title number 10 after finishing second for the round.

A racey Jack Perkins won all three races, but after having four DNFs at the other two previous rounds has seen Ricciardello clinch the title.

In the final stages of Race 3, Perkins also claimed the lap record for the category at Phillip Island, clocking a 1:27.2757.

Daniel Tamasi finished third, ahead of Queenslanders Colin Smith and Steven Tamasi.

In Trans-Am Shane Bradford led the way from Stuart Inwood, with Geoff Taunton first in the MARC Cars.

The Kerrick Sports Sedan Series returns to the Nationals for the final round at Sydney Motorsport Park in November.

Australian Sports Racer Series

The fourth round of the Australian Sports Racer Series has seen a new winner, with Aaron Steer from West Race Cars taking the final race win and secured the round win.

In the final race of the weekend Steer was battling for the lead with Roger I'Anson, but a tyre failure to I'Anson's car saw him unable to finish the race.

Despite claiming his 10th consecutive race win earlier in the day, I'Anson was only able to salvage ninth for the round.

Mark Laucke had a great comeback after his fiery exit at Queensland Raceway, taking second for the round ahead of the brightly-coloured West of John-Paul Drake.

John Morriss was the first home of the Radicals, finishing fourth outright ahead of fellow Radical racer Peter Johnston.

Terry Peovitis was sixth outright and the first in F1000, with David Crampton, Greg Steer and I'Anson rounding out the top ten.

The Australian Sports Racer Series will now head to Sydney Motorsport Park for their final round of 2016.

Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car Series

On debut in the Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car Series, Garry Jacobson took the outright win at Phillip Island.

Jacobson, who is a regular in the Supercars Dunlop Series had an impressive round win, taking all three race victories across the round.

It was a tight battle for the rest of the podium, with Tyler Greenbury taking second place alongside Brad Jones Racing's Joshua Smith.

Current series leader Taz Douglas endured a rather difficult weekend with fourth in his VE Commodore.

The first Privateer home was Jim Pollicina in fifth outright, ahead of Chris Smerdon, Simon Emerzidis, Michael Anderson, Warren Millett ans Jack Sipp rounding out the top ten.

The Kumho Tyres V8 Touring Car Series will head to the Muscle Car Masters in October for the final round of the season.

Superkarts Australia National Series

National title holder Russell Jamieson has taken out the second round of the Superkarts Australia National Series at Phillip Island.

Jamieson battled with Ilya Harpas in the 250cc International class, with Harpas claiming the final race for the round.

A close battle for third saw Gary Pegoraro ahead of Victorian Matt Bass.

250cc National saw 2015 champion Jordan Ford claim all four race victories across the round, with Aaron Cogger finishing second ahead of John Pellicano.

Lee Vella had an unfortunate DNF in Race 3 in the 125cc Gearbox class, which saw Adam Stewart grab the win with Vella second, with Phil Silcock finished third by a single point to Brad Stebbing.

The Superkarts Australia National Series will now head to Sydney Motorsport Park as part of the final round of the Nationals.

Australian Touring Car Masters Series

John Bowe has extended his current series lead in the Australian Touring Car Masters Series, after taking both of today's race wins.

Bowe led the way from Glenn Seton in the Pro Master round points, with Seton also claiming a new lap record at Phillip Island in the series with a 1:40.7450.

After yesterday's race win, Eddie Abelnica rounded out the podium with Steve Johnson fourth for the class.

ProAm saw a new round winner in the class for 2016, with Adam Bressington taking the round win ahead of Jason Gomersall, who was quick all weekend long but overcame some bad luck.

The ProSport class saw South Australian Graham Stewart take the win at the Island.

The Touring Car Masters will now head to Bathurst, for their penultimate round for the 2016 season.

Australian Formula 3 Premier Series

Tim Macrow has continued his strong form in this year's Australian Formula 3 Premier Series, provisionally wrapping up the series title for the season.

Macrow although had a new challenger in today's final race, with Cameron Shields stepping up into the Premier class in style battling the Formula 3 veteran.

Shields was second for the round in debut in the Premier class, ahead of his Gilmour Racing teammate Chris Anthony in third.

In the National class Nathan Kumar claimed the win, with Shane Wilson extending his Kumho Cup lead with a win.

The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series returns to the Nationals at Sydney for their final round of the year.