Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Oct 20, 2016



The CAMS National Racing Championships will expand to a nine round calendar in 2017, with more rounds to be held in New South Wales and Queensland.

The nine rounds will see the addition of two more circuits, with the Nationals returning to Wakefield Park and Morgan Park next season.

Director of the Nationals Michael Smith is looking forward to another big season of the Nationals.

“We are pleased to see the calendar expand to nine rounds in 2017, which will allow for more racing time for the categories competing at the Nationals next season,” Smith said. 

“To assist with affordability, the nine rounds will be a combination of traditional three day formats and the introduction of two day formats for some rounds.

“2016 has been a great season of racing so far, and we are always looking at ways we can improve the Nationals to make it one of the best and most affordable ways to compete in national level circuit racing in Australia.

“The Nationals will also celebrate its 100th round since its inception in 2006, so there is plenty to look forward to next year.”

The season will begin at Sandown in April and will then travel to Phillip Island for the Nationals’ 100th round in May, followed by Winton in June. 

The Nationals will then head to Sydney Motorsport Park in July, then drive up north to Queensland Raceway after the Supercars round at Ipswich. 

Competitors will then travel back to Victoria for Winton in August and Phillip Island in September for rounds six and seven. 

The final two rounds of the Nationals will be held at Morgan Park and finishing in Wakefield Park in November.

A list of categories running on the 2017 calendar will be announced in the coming weeks.

2017 Calendar
Round 1: Sandown, 7-9 April 
Round 2: Phillip Island, 26-28 May
Round 3: Winton, 9-11 June 
Round 4: Sydney Motorsport Park, 7-9 July 
Round 5: Queensland Raceway, 4-6 August 
Round 6: Winton, 26-27 August 
Round 7: Phillip Island, 8-10 September 
Round 8: Morgan Park, 23-24 September
Round 9: Wakefield Park, (TBC November)