Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Nov 12, 2016



The fight for series glory in the Australian Sports Racer Series will come to a head this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park, with the final round of the 2016 season.

In the outright and class standings, 38 points are awarded for a race win, 35 for second and 33 for third. From there, the point’s allocation reduces by one point per place. In addition, one point is awarded to the racer who sets the fastest qualifying lap, as is one point to the racer who sets the fastest lap of the race.

In the outright battle, Roger I’Anson leads the way on 388 points from Peter Johnston, while John-Paul Drake and Terry Peovitis are also in contention on 330 and 327 points respectively.

In SR2, ‘JP’ Drake has the class title effectively sewn up, as does Peter Johnston in the Radical Class fight with Johnston’s nearest title competitors electing not to compete this weekend due to other commitments.

In the F1000 class, Terry Peovitis leads on 424 points, but Josh Cranston remains in touch on 360 points in the #5 Aventis Racing F1000 while West Race Cars patriarch Greg Steer is also a mathematical possibility on 301 points.

Click here to see all of the current points standings

Australian Sports Racer Series Category Administrator Liam Curkpatrick mentioned that the weekend was shaping up to be an entertaining one.

“We have a very competitive field here at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend and with titles on the line – in particular those for outright contention, which has no less than four racers still in the fight – and F1000, it is sure to be an interesting couple of days,” Curkpatrick said.

“Across the year all of our racers have done a great job and put on a show for fans in Queensland, Victoria and New South Wales, and we can’t wait to see what they have in store at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend.”

The Australian Sports Racer Series will be on-track for qualifying and Race 1 on Saturday (10.10am and 12.45pm), and two further races on Sunday (1.45pm and 3.30pm).