Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Nov 13, 2016



Tim Macrow has broken the all-time Australian Formula 3 record for most wins in a single season, following victory in the opening race of the season finale at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Macrow’s 14th win of the season for Alpine Motor Sports came after the three-time champion fended off a strong challenge from McDonald’s Gilmour Racing star Cameron Shields on a mid-race restart. 

Macrow eclipses the previous record of 13 wins in a year, set by James Winslow in 2013. 

“We actually made a change that made the car worse in that race, but otherwise it's been a really good day,” Macrow said. 

“It was a good battle with Cameron on the restart. He went around the outside but it’s a big ask to go all the way around there and hold on for turn three so I was able to hold him out. 

“We’re looking forward to ending the year strongly tomorrow but the reverse grid race will be tough work.” 

Macrow, who started from pole, escaped to an early lead thanks to his customary cold-Kumho pace, however was brought back to the pack at the end of the opening lap when the Safety Car was called following a clash between R-Tek teammates Nathan Kumar and Roman Krumins at Turn 2.

Two laps later, Shields timed his restart to perfection - running around the outside of Macrow at turns one and two before forced to slot in behind the leader.

The champion was never headed from there, pulling away and setting the fastest lap en route to another record-setting performance. 

Shields’ strong second continued his remarkable run of results in the second half of the year, while R-Tek Motorsport’s Roland Legge improved to third place, having started fourth. 

Legge and 2015 champion Jon Collins were closely matched in the battle for the final spot on the podium, however Collins ultimately settled for fourth place on his return to the series. 

The results give him pole position for tomorrow’s second race of the weekend, which features a reverse top-four grid. 

Legge’s R-Tek Dallara also showed strong speed and the youngster from Mackay is expected to challenge on Sunday. 

Shane Wilson finished fifth in the first race for his new F307 Dallara while Roman Krumins finished a lap behind in sixth, having pitted for repairs to his R-Tek Dallara following the contact on the opening lap. Ross McAlpine and Kumar failed to finish. 

Race two (9 laps) kicks off at 1:20pm and the finale at 3:00pm.