Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Nov 13, 2016


The final round of the Shannons Nationals presented by Penrite is now complete, after seven rounds of racing in the 2016 season.

Five categories also completed their respective series for the season, with outright and class winners being crowned for the year.


Australian Production Car Series



Today's racing kicked off with the feature 4 Hour race, which was ultimately the final round of the Australian Production Car Series for the year, with Beric Lynton and Tim Leahy taking today's race win and the series title.

Lynton and Leahy although were in competitive company for majority of the race, but devastatingly the battle came to an abrupt end, after Aaron Seton's front wheel came off with just under a lap remaining.

Grant and Iain Sherrin then found themselves second outright, ahead of the competitive pairing of Matthew Brabham and Leigh Burges.

As well as taking out the outright win, Lynton and Leahy were able to finish on top in Class A.

Thanks to their second and third placings outright, the Sherrins took out Class B, ahead of Brabham and Burges.

A strong field of Class C competitors saw the Renaults take out the podium, with Francois Jouy and Franck Donniaux on top taking out the win ahead of Colin Osborne/Hadrian Morrell and Scott Gore/Patrick Galang/Keith Bensley.

Class D saw youngster Jimmy Vernon pair up with Mark Caine for an impressive win, ahead of Graeme and Joshua Heath and Carly and Barry Black.

Jason Walsh and Paul Currie took out Class E, with Kyle Alford and Carey McMahon taking out the Invitational class.


Australian Formula 3 Premier Series


Australian open-wheel master Tim Macrow has taken out the final two races at Sydney Motorsport Park, handing him the final round victory in the Premier class.

Macrow held a strong stance in both of the races, fending off a racey Cameron Shields to take out the win.

Last year's champion Jon Collins finished third after a brilliant charge to second place in the final race, with Roland Legge rounding out the Premier field.

In the National class Shane Wilson was victorious in his first run in the class, leading the way ahead of Nathan Kumar.

The Kumho Cup class also returned this weekend to Sydney Motorsport Park, with Ross McAlpine taking the round win.

Australian Formula 3 Management also announced the profits made from the #WeFlyWith23 campaign in honour of the late Luke Spalding, with over $21,000 donated. The money raised will be donated to his charity iPad's for Oncology Kids.


Australian Sports Racer Series


The Australian Sports Racer Series outright champion may have been decided in yesterday's race, but that didn't stop the field having a wild race in today's finale.

Roger I'Anson carried the dominance he's had throughout the entire season in both of today's races, making his outright victory just that bit sweeter with two wins.

In the final race of the weekend it was last year's champion that crossed the line in second, ahead of F1000 racers Josh Cranston and Terry Peovitis.

Radical class winner for 2016 Peter Johnston finished fifth outright and first in class, ahead of Victorian rival Philip Hughes.


Kerrick Sports Sedan Series


Jack Perkins has dominated the final round of the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series at Sydney Motorsport Park, defeating the current champion.

Perkins led the way in both of today's races, with Tony Ricciardello finishing second.

The Supercars race winner was also able to secure second in the series.

Birol Certin finished third in both of today's races, with Steven Tamasi and Steve Lacey trading fourth and fifth across the races.


Superkarts Australia National Series


The final round of the Superkarts Australia National Series has drawn to a close, with Ilya Harpas taking the win in the third round of the series.

Harpas led the way from Russell Jamieson in the 250cc International class, who also managed to get one race win under his belt today.

Jason Smith and Anton Stevens finished third and fourth respectively.

Two-time champion Jordan Ford won today's races in the 250cc National class, with Timothy Weier and John Pellicano rounding out the podium.

In the 125 Gearbox class Mark Robin took the win, ahead of a competitive Lee Vella and Paul Campbell.

The Shannons Nationals would like to thank all of the categories that competed in the 2016 season - bring on an even greater 2017 season!