Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Nov 14, 2016



Three races at Sydney Motorsport Park over the weekend have decided the 2016 Australian Sports Racer Series champions, with Roger I’Anson (outright title) taking a very deserved and respected win alongside John-Paul Drake (SR2 title), Terry Peovitis (F1000 title) and Peter Johnston (Radical title).

Johnston was also second in the outright title standings for the year and took the Radical round win, while Josh Cranston took home third outright for the season and the F1000 round win.


While I’Anson was able to stich up the outright championship after yesterday’s opening race of the weekend, the battle for second came right down to the finish line.

Josh Cranston needed to beat Mark Laucke to the line for second in the final race to get the points he needed to take second in the title.


The battle played out over a number of laps and at times included Johnston, before a huge final two laps to the flag played out with the pair battling hard. Josh Cranston would overtake Laucke on the final corner, only to have the Laucke Flour Mills racer take it back right on the line with a margin of six inches.

It was a large effort from the Bondi fire fighter, who was battling with a damaged front wing on his F1000 after incurring contact earlier in the race from his brother Adam Cranston – making his comeback from injury this weekend in the #27 West Race Cars LMP4.


Despite going on to have further issues due to the damaged aero bodywork on his racer, elder brother Adam Cranston would go on to take the SR2 victory for the round with fellow SR2 competitor (and 2016 SR2 title winner) Drake unable to finish the race this afternoon due to oil pressure issues.

The series will return in 2017 with a five-round calendar held across five of the country’s best tracks across three states, including Sandown Raceway (7-9 April), Winton Motor Raceway (9-11 June), Sydney Motorsport Park (7-9 July), Queensland Raceway (4-6 August) and Phillip Island (8-10 September).

Like in previous years, the Australian Sports Racer Series will continue its development of inter-class racing, with the SR2 Division as well as titles for Radical/Supersports and F1000 competitors being held alongside the chase for outright honours