Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Dec 14, 2016



At the beginning of 2016, the Australian Sports Racer Series officially introduced the Radical and F1000 classes to its title structure, adding a strong mix of competition to the series.

Just five rounds later, the success of the variety of the series was proven, especially when the top three positions were claimed by three different class drivers, while all of the class battles hosted tight tussles.

First outright was SR1 competitor Roger I'Anson, second was claimed by Peter Johnston in the Radical and third was F1000 racer Josh Cranston, with all top three racing for outright as well as their respective classes.

Not only was the variety high, but so was the action - many battles continued right to the end, with the outright and F1000 class victories continuing to the final round.

Category Manager Liam Curkpatrick says the class structure delivered strong battles right to the end of the final race.

"In recent years we have hosted F1000 and Radical racers as guest competitors, but in 2016 we were excited to create official title classes for these competitors to really add to the diversity of the category," Curkpatrick said.

"We have been very pleased with the support offered by Radical and F1000 racers following this development, and with the resulting competitive action we have been able to deliver racers and fans.

"To see a number of class battles and the outright title fight come down to the very last round, and in some cases to the last race, was very entertaining.

"We cannot wait to see what our racers have in store for 2017 - with new cars coming on-board and increasing interest from potential competitors across all classes, it should be a banner year for this burgeoning category."

In the coming season all five rounds of the 2017 Australian Sports Racer Series will be held at Shannons Nationals rounds including Sandown, Winton, Sydney, Queensland and Phillip Island.