Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jan 11, 2017



Winners of the 2017 New South Wales and Queensland Production Touring Car Championships will be rewarded in the following season, with a sponsored entry fee into a signature round of the 2018 Australian Production Car Series.

The series and championships promoters view the new deal as a win-win, with this reward helping state and national production car competitors thrive off each other’s success.

"We are very excited about the agreement we have made with Australian Production Cars and Ontic Sports," Queensland Production Touring Car President Gerry Murphy said.

"This is a new phase in the mutually beneficial relationship we are building with Iain Sherrin and his team.

"We both recognise that strong state level categories will in turn become feeders for the national competition ... the local categories will benefit from an overall greater awareness for production touring and will continue to grow."

The deal will see the winner of the Queensland Production Touring Car Championship awarded entry into the Queensland round of the 2018 series at Queensland Raceway, while the New South Wales champion will be on the grid for the Australian 4 Hour at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The NSW Championship grid peaked at 40 cars in 2016, which also helped grow the interest in Queensland competition.

On the national stage in 2016, the Australian Production Cars rebuilt their series and is continuing to grow heading into the new season.

"The APCS has really grown across the 2016 four round series, seeing us head to our final round for the year with 32 cars on the grid," Category Manager Iain Sherrin said.

"It truly is an exciting time for the series, and with this new era of corporation between the APCS and the Queensland and New South Wales state series, I really think the sky is the limit for production car racing in this country."

The Australian Production Car Series returns to the Shannons Nationals calendar in 2017, joining the Nationals at Winton Motor Raceway for their second round in June.