Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Jan 13, 2017



Radical Australia has revealed their 2017 racing calendar, which will this year include three rounds run under the Shannons Nationals banner.

This season will mark the eighth season of Radical Cup Australia, with this year to be run under five rounds.

RAC will run as a support category for the Bathurst 12 Hour in February, whilst running the Nationals rounds at Sandown, Phillip and Sydney Motorsport Park.

The one-make sports cars will then complete their series at Highlands Motorsport Park in New Zealand.

Category Manager Greg Smith mentioned Radical is a complete package–which is a big part of its success.

“It’s a tiered program which caters for both amateurs and experienced competitors alike,” Smith said.

“For those that are serious, we have driver coaches and engineers available to help them go quicker, something for which the dual seats in the Radical is invaluable … as they progress we can assist them to compete in the SuperSport Series and ultimately Radical Australia Cup, we can also support them to compete overseas, just as each year’s RAC champion does as part of the European Championship.

“It’s a fantastic package that lays the foundation for drivers who may have found motor sport a little later in their careers, or as a stepping stone to compete at a higher level in sports cars.

“We’re proud to have seen a number of our drivers do in recent years, something we expect to see more of in 2017!

Twenty-four cars are currently entered for the first round, with their season set to commence in early February at Bathurst.


2017 Radical Australia Cup

Round 1: Mount Panorama, 3-4 February
Round 2: Sandown Raceway, 8-9 April
Round 3: Phillip Island, 27-28 May
Round 4: Sydney Motorsport Park, 8-9 July
Round 5: Highlands Motorsport Park, 11-12 November