Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live

Australian Production Cars

Mar 22, 2017

Changes unveiled with new Sporting Regulations released


This season the Australian Production Car Series has become 100 per cent aligned with the CAMS 3E Technical Regulations, meaning all CAMS Production Car categories (state or national) are using the same technical regulations.

The series has also now opened up to 3E production cars, and Category Manager Iain Sherrin says it'll be a huge step for 2017.

"This will see us able to be fully inclusive to all production cars that fit within the CAMS 3E Regulations as the national category, including two-seater production sports cars and utes," Sherrin said.

"With more cars both new and current that haven't been able to race with us before now able to come and join in, we are really looking forward to seeing how our grid develops across the year.

Also being introduced in 2017 is the Australian Production Car Cup, crowning the outright and class winners from rounds one to six.

The cup will sit alongside the Australian Production Car Series Trophy, which will benefit 3E cars that are ineligible to compete at the opening round of the series, rewarding the outright and class winners from rounds two to five.

"The Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour doubles as the first round of the APCS this year and as such, our first round is completely controlled under the Bathurst 6 Hour Sporting Regulations and its vehicle eligibility list ... this means that some cars who can race with us at rounds two through to five are not able to compete in round one," Sherrin said.

"Because of this, we wanted to make sure that those racers weren't counted out of the running through no fault of their own.

"For this season, we have introduced the Cup, which will recognise the highest points scorers outright and in each class across all six rounds, and then the series trophies which will reflect the cumulative results for rounds two to six.

"With 2017 being a transition year, it is our hope that from 2018 all cars will be competing for the APCS Cup across all rounds."

To view the Sporting Regulations, please click here