Major sponsor

Search our website

Nationals TV

iTV Live

CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series presented by Pirelli

Latest News

Apr 11, 2017


After a standout debut at the Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, the mighty Interlloy KTM X-Bow GT4 made a return to the circuit over the weekend for the opening round of the CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series at the Shannons Nationals first round at Sandown.

M-Motorsport team boss Justin McMillan was joined by Dean Koutsoumidis for the car’s debut in the series, and said the car has made improvements since it first raced in February around the Mountain.

Click through to read more.

2017 Australian GT Trophy - Trophy Class
1 Steve McLaughlan 165

2 Rod Salmon 161

3 Jan Jinadasa 155

4 Rob Smith 153

5 Wayne Mack 108


The Australian GT Trophy Presented by Pirelli was introduced to the Australian motor sport landscape in 2016 and made its debut at the Shannons Nationals, and in 2017 returns for five rounds.

The popular addition provided a number of key benefits for Australian GT, as for competitors, it added value to their machines as the competition gave them a dedicated home within the Australian motor sport landscape.

The older generation machinery also presents a lower entry point into the most exciting form of racing in the country, and the perfect place for drivers to gain experience before stepping into the Australian GT Championship.

Also welcomed into the Trophy Series are entries from MARC Cars Australia, which enjoy their own dedicated class within the field.

The competitive, Australian made race cars are a perfect fit for the series given they were specifically designed and built for longer form races.

The Trophy Series shares much in common with the Australian GT Championship, including compulsory pitstops, designed to balance out the racing to its longer 50-mimute races.


2016 Class Winners

Trophy: Rob Smith
Challenge: Scott Hookey
MARC: Jake Camilleri

2017 Calendar

Round 1: 7-9 April, Sandown (Shannons Nationals)
Round 2: 9-11 June, Winton (Shannons Nationals)
Round 3: 5-6 August, Queensland Raceway (Shannons Nationals)
Round 4: 8-10 September, Phillip Island (Shannons Nationals)
Round 5: 18-19 November, Wakefield Park (Shannons Nationals)